Serbian Ground Beef, Veggie, and Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
Nice taste, I used sweet potatoes and potatoes…also added some spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
The meat, vegetables and seasonings in this dish are fantastic. The potatoes added nothing to the dish, in my family's opinion. Our son came for lunch the next day and reheated the leftovers. He too loved the meat mixture but wondered why I added the potatoes. We all thought the meat portion would be wonderful in a lettuce wrap as it has a lot of flavor. This dish does say comfort and it paired nicely with 'Creamy Spiced Coleslaw' from AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
we liked this very much. It has a different kind of spicy. I will put less cloves in next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
This was very good. We left off the red pepper to increase the chances that kids would like it and added garlic, as we always add garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Loved it! So interesting and not your typical taste. Exotic and different- my only advice is to cut down the pepper. I followed the recipe without listening to other reviewers because I like to do that before make any changes and I can agree the pepper could be cut down. Delicious though and I couldn't wait to get home the following day to have the leftovers. ! doubled the recipe and made enough for 2 days for a family of 4 with a big appatite. Added another layer of potatoes in the middle as well as seasoned and browned them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This "Serbian Ground Beef, Veggie, and Potato Bake" is the perfect comfort food, and so easy to make! I learned from the Serbian reviewers that this dish: (a) is "Serbian Moussaka (Musaka)"; (b) is usually layered with more potatoes than what this recipe calls for (I added a middle layer); (c) typically made with VEGETA (a seasoned salt that tastes like parsley and carrots that I was able to get withoug MSG at my supermarket but did not use because I did not especially like it); and (d) may have parsley layered in with the potatoes (which I did). I substituted 1 tablespoon of tomato paste (total) for the ingredients that I wasn't using (red wine, half-and-half cream, and a cube of beef bouillon) to compensate for any loss of flavor. I will be making this again many, many more times. Thank you amanda1432 for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Just made this and it's very good. The only thing that I did different is that I drained the fat from the ground beef before adding the olive oil. Thought this would make the dish to greasy. I also did the three layers of potatoes as the other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Loved the recipe. Did add garlic powder, but, otherwise followed it exactly. Husband and son gave it 5 Stars, I would have to agree. Thanks for sharing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wopper
Home Town: Wind Lake, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Delicious mixture of flavor. Will be a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by molina411
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
This dish is really great! My husband loves when I make it, which is usually every two weeks. I will say, I've tweaked it a bit though. First, I make sure to cut the potatoes thin so that they cook in the time allotted. Otherwise, like the first time I made this, they would take forEVER to cook. I also added a lot more spices, including garlic powder, onion powder, cayenne pepper, and a lebanese/middle eastern spice mixture called "7 spices" which is a exactly what it says: a blend of 7 different spices. I also don't measure. I just add a dash here and there and taste. If I feel I need more of a certain spice, I add more. In a separate bowl, I added salt, garlic powder, and paprika to the potatoes and mixed them with my hands to make sure the potatoes were all coated evenly, otherwise they'd be too bland. Last time I made this, I sprinkled a little parmesan cheese over each meat mixture and on the top potato layer and it was a great addition that I'll continue to always do now. Oh, and I don't add the half-n-half because I don't want the added fat, and it still tastes great. Also, I have three layers of the meat mixture and three of the potatoes. And when it's done cooking, I will broil the top for a few minutes to get it slightly crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by molina411

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 441) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States