Serbian Ground Beef, Veggie, and Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by molina411
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
This dish is really great! My husband loves when I make it, which is usually every two weeks. I will say, I've tweaked it a bit though. First, I make sure to cut the potatoes thin so that they cook in the time allotted. Otherwise, like the first time I made this, they would take forEVER to cook. I also added a lot more spices, including garlic powder, onion powder, cayenne pepper, and a lebanese/middle eastern spice mixture called "7 spices" which is a exactly what it says: a blend of 7 different spices. I also don't measure. I just add a dash here and there and taste. If I feel I need more of a certain spice, I add more. In a separate bowl, I added salt, garlic powder, and paprika to the potatoes and mixed them with my hands to make sure the potatoes were all coated evenly, otherwise they'd be too bland. Last time I made this, I sprinkled a little parmesan cheese over each meat mixture and on the top potato layer and it was a great addition that I'll continue to always do now. Oh, and I don't add the half-n-half because I don't want the added fat, and it still tastes great. Also, I have three layers of the meat mixture and three of the potatoes. And when it's done cooking, I will broil the top for a few minutes to get it slightly crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by molina411

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
We loved the combination of favors in this dish. I was skeptical about the cinnamon and cloves, but trusted the reviews I read, and went for it. I chopped up a potato and threw it in the ground beef mixture, and sliced another extra potato to add a middle layer, meaning I used 4 potatoes total. I was trying to stretch the dish to feed my family of 7. It worked well. Everything else was followed, except I used a 2 tablespoons sour cream instead of half-and-half (as I read someone else had done), and a couple splashes red wine vinegar instead of red wine. I think it's a pretty forgiving recipe. I want to remember this one as a way to make a pound of ground beef go a little further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chmeliar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
This recipe is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
We really enjoyed this although for the kids they thought it too spicy. I will make this again. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
This dish is perfect on a fall evening. Regardless of your native palate this is a classic comfort food, an exotic yet familiar menagerie of spices that leaves your soul satisfied. I recommend doubling the spices, adding garlic powder. Adding 1/4 tsp each of cinnamon and cloves really kicks up the exotic factor. adding the meat back in with the veggies toss in a couple TB of flour, as it will thicken the juices and keep the meat tender while it bakes uncovered
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Flavors were okay, but it needed more liquid, perhaps a simple gravy type texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I love this meal, so does my family. I made it two weeks in a row!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This was great, was looking for something to do with some ground beef I had and tried this out. As someone said- don't leave out the pinches of cloves and cinnamon. I'm not a big fan of sweet type spices in my meat, but it adds a lot to this recipe, and the pepper flakes I went a hair heavy on and it complements the spice it added. As other commenters suggested, I did three layers of potatoes and spiced the potatoes, I added salt/pepper/garlic powder/paprika to them. I didn't expect much and was very pleasantly surprised by this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This had amazing flavor. Easy to make also (I enjoy chopped vegetables). My hubby said it was fantastic, the best thing I'd ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schmann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This dish looked simple, and I wasn't expecting it would be very spectacular, but the flavors are amazing! Leftovers went very fast and the family requested that I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 422) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States