Serbian Cevapcici Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I'm Serbian and I grew up eating these. The cayenne was a bit of an odd ingredient as these are usually flavorful, but not spicy. The first time I made them, I followed the recipe as written and included the cayenne. They were excellent and we could not get enough of them, although next time I will leave out the cayenne as while we loved them, they weren't quite how I remember them. Second best cevaps I've ever had! Serving suggestions (any combination of these or all of them): ajvar (or if you can't find this at a specialty food store, try Trader Joe's Roasted Red Pepper Spread with Eggplant & Garlic), chopped raw onions, kajmak, all soaked up in pogaca (flat bread). Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Made and tastes ok. Nothing like the one I buy at a little european grocery store (LYKOS) in Whiting,In. They're the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
These were pretty tasty. However, they did not taste anything like the Cevapcici I am used to. My mother is half Serbian, half Slovenian and I have been to former Yugoslavia countless times. I have been assured by my Serbian grandmother that an authentic Cevapcici contains only pork & beef mince, salt and pepper and nothing else. And that the meat needs to rest for at least 24 hours after being mixed. I have no idea how true that is, but I am willing to bet that there are many variations that are all equally "authentic". Our Cevapcici were a little on the dry side, but I blame my husband for slightly overcooking them. This recipe makes more than just 4 serves if you ask me... Anyway, this was yummy and I will make it again with some minor alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dhotch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Tustin, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I made this with 2 lbs lamb and 1 lb each ground beef and pork and adjusted the spices up proportionately since this was a little more meat. This was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
For Ad-lib Cook, the pronounciation is CHEE-VAP-CHEE-CHEE, the Serbian word for a little slice of heaven, as far as I'm concerned. Thanks for sharing this recipe Brunette!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUSIC_MINX

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I live in serbia and cevapcici are a delicacy. they taste great when grilled, with fries and sour cream on the side or in a bun. hope i helped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Yummy! And I don't even know how to pronouce it! I was concerned that the cayene pepper would be too much for the kids, but they didn't say a thing. I also was wondering if I'd like it since I never cook lamb. But surprise...I'll make these again for sure. I'm sure someone of Serbian decent would like to shoot me for saying this, but I think of these as Serbian gyros.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I remember going to Croatia and having Cevapcici sandwiches every single day for almost a week... It was the best week of my life! When I found this recipe I was so excited to try it. I made it for the first time for my two friends who were with me in Croatia. I grilled the cevapcici in a foreman and served it with pita bread, sauteed onions and some Ajver sauce. Ajver is this great roasted red pepper base sauce that you can find in eastern european markets. If you can find this sauce it really perfects the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boonu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Living in the midwest I have a freezer full of ground venison. This time the butcher combined it with ground pork. This was a perfect place to use it. I usually like leaner meats, but by grilling the grease from the pork ran right off. The flavors were delicious. We served it with great hot dog rolls from the Breadsmith--so good. Completed the meal with mashed potatoes and grilled zucchini with rosemary olive oil. yummm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAZ123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochelle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

How to Make the All-American Burger

Get tips to fire up the tastiest grilled cheeseburgers.

Giant King Cake Burger

A big, bad burger with major mojo for your Mardi Gras party.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States