Sensational Steak Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Do not put in slow cooker for 4 hours. Mine turned to a pile of mush. Tasty mush....but not servable to guests. With minor adjustments this would have been great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Made as written except I didn't have red wine. I diluted cooking sherry to replace the wine. Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
This was excellent. Super easy. Hubby doesn't care for mustard so I omitted it and added a little Pepperjack with the Provolone for a little kick. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
It was very good and tender, only had in crockpot for about three hours. Did not use horseradish. Will make this again. My kids loved this sandwich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Delicious as is, but the bread fell apart after toasting, and wasn't the easiest to eat. Next time I'll try something different than a loaf of french bread. The mustard/horseradish sauce is what took this sandwich from 4 to 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akc52

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Very good will make again Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Love it. JPA not much of a fan... oh well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Made this tonight for dinner and will make again. As per some reviewers comments, I waited until an hour before dinner to add the veggies and I saute'd them briefly first. I didn't use the horseradish/brown mustard mixed because I had a jar of horseradish/dijon in the fridge. Next time I won't use the mushrooms because they just tasted rubbery and I'll do something different then a loaf of french bread. There was way too much for just the two of us. Otherwise I liked this a lot and have added it to my regular rotation. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I use this website all of the time, and make a lot of wonderful recipes but have never actually "joined", or rated and commented on anything. This recipe prompted me to do so. I made this last night and woke up thinking about it this morning. It was absolutely delicious. I read the reviews and altered it just a bit... I added red peppers and added the vegetables to the crockpot just about an hour before it was finished. I also omitted the mustard/horseradish mix, and added a garlic aoli instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
The flavor of this was very good and a little different than the usual steak sandwich we make. I did not use the slowcooker since I had a small amount of leftover steak. I also do not like dipping the sandwiches so between the two I needed less liquid but only reduced the broth. I'm actually glad I did because i liked the undiluted flavor the rest added. I layered the peppers and onions, then steak, and then mushrooms on top of that. I poured the liquid over top and grilled over a combo of direct and indirect heat for about a half hour in a covered foil pan. I was hesitant to review this since I changed the cooking method, but with summer coming I thought this was an option for both grillers and using the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sensational Steak Sandwich

The slow cooker is the key to these tender sirloin steak sandwiches.

Easy Steak Sandwich

See how to make a sub shop-style cheese steak sandwich.

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States