Sensational Slow Cooked Beef Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Finley Stupkin
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This was a fantastic recipe - used it for Christmas Day! We cooked it in the slow cooker for 14 hours and it was soft, fall apart, tasty goodness! Omitted the mushrooms and shallots as people who don't like them and it was STILL amazing! Highly recommend a try! We also left the spice mix on for a few hours to sink into the meet instead of adding straight away and cooking - flavoursome and delicious! Can't wait to cook it again with the mushrooms and shallots - great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Finley Stupkin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Wow, I just pulled this out of the oven and took my first bite, and couldn't even wait until after dinner to write my review. This brisket is the most delicious, perfectly seasoned, tender and sensational beef recipe I think a I have ever cooked. I used butter instead of margarine, and had no wine, so was forced to use grape juice instead, and it still turned out remarkable. There's no need to think twice before trying this recipe - it's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
made this in the crock pot for passover and it was beyond delicious. i followed everything to the letter except omitted the cayenne pepper. after i sauteed the mushroom and shallots, used the same pan to sear and brown the meat, 5 min per side as suggested adding the worcester sauce. put the meat into the crock pot and then added the remaining liquid ingredients and boiled this down to about half of what i started with. (got scared when i tasted this and found it to be really spicy! not to fear, though, the final product wasn't spicy at all) i added this liquid to the meat in the crockpot, topped it with the mushrooms and butter/margarine and set the meat on low and cooked for 10-11 hours. it was stunningly simple and so delicious that everyone took seconds and thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Amazing amazing amazing!!! Easy to prepare and probably the most delicious taste ever. Put nearly double the amount of onions and mushrooms in the second time we cooked it as they were so delicious .highly highly recommend...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
OMG this was AMAZING! I was being a cost-effective shopper and bought a 12.18 pound Brisket - mistake! Had to brown it in the Dutch oven which was close to impossible b/c it was so big. But we did it. I was afraid of using so much Worcestershire. It just felt weird to dump so much in but I followed the recipe to the T. Double of course. OMGoodness! It was amazing. Falling apart when we tried to cut it or move it so we just lifted the rack and hoped it didn't fall apart completely. Success. It was ridiculous. Thank goodness I used a ton of mushrooms and 2 large shallots b/c the mushroom mixture is soooo yummy. Can't rave enough. Will buy a smaller one next time. Thank goodness I had a huge Dutch oven or we would have been in trouble. The Au Jus is also amazing. Saved a large portion and skimmed off the fat this AM and you don't need to do anything to it but drizzle over the meat and your homemade mashed potatoes (but of course) 10 thumbs up. My new staple. I have no doubt it will be a hit at a party. The only change is - I used butter. I don't know when I last bought margarine more than 20 years ago for sure. Thanks for the GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I liked the flavors a lot, and the cayenne spiced it up just right, but did think it was too salty --- I will probably cut the salt in half at least, maybe more. Otherwise the meat came out great --- moist and really flavorful. Will definitely try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Wow! I followed the recipe exactly except I cooked it in a crock pot for 24 hours on low instead of a dutch oven and it was AMAZING! The taste was sensational! The meat just melted in your mouth! It took some prep work but it was well worth it! My husband couldn't believe the brisket shrunk so much. It really didn't that much. I grazed a bit when it was almost done. lol. This recipe is definitely a keeper! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yankee Girl & Southern Boy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
Absolutely wonderful! I was looking for a good brisket recipe, and so far, this one definitely takes the cake! The kick from the cayenne made the meat just a hint spicy, which I prefer, and the mushrooms and onions were absolutely fabulous with the meat. I ended up making a little too much sauce, so instead of drippings, I had more like a bit of soup. Turned it into homemade gravy, and it was so good over potatoes and with the meat! I will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Isidor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Easy to make, so tender it falls apart on your plate!! Actual flavor of the meat was a little bland, but that may be the cut, or that this is the first time I've ever cooked a brisket! Will definitely make again for next Hanukkah. Husband and babies loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This was fun to make and we loved smelling it cooking all afternoon! I made a 3 lb. brisket and it was a little dry. I had to use foil to cover it so maybe that is why. The juice was amazing and I will make it again! Perhaps I can cook it longer at a lower temperature to get the moist result I was hoping for. Served it with roasted rosemary potatoes on the grill, peas and french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Randall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Wine-Braised Beef Brisket

See how to make this tasty slow-cooked beef brisket.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States