Sensational Slow Cooked Beef Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Everyone thought this was way too over seasoned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
This dish was so delicious that I am compelled to write my first review after many years of enjoying the recipes from allrecipes.com Some friends of mine were talking about cooking a brisket so I thought I would try one as well. One of the things that surprised me was the 5 hour cooking time! I followed the recipe pretty much as is, but substituted onion for the shallots and used bouillon cubes for the beef broth. As others suggested, I served it with mashed potatoes and steamed green beans - the sauce was a perfect complement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I used this recipe with a slow cooker instead of a dutch oven. It turned out great. Instead of a 5lb beef brisket, I bought one that was around 2.5 lb and halved all the ingredients. I set the slow cooker to low and cooked it for 6 hours. Great recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irving Greisman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
This is a great meal for company! And the mushroom gravy is fantastic. It makes a lot of gravy, so I froze the leftover and used it for hot roast beef sandwiches and several other things. My daughter-in-law asked for the recipe, and everyone loved it. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irishalice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Finley Stupkin
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This was a fantastic recipe - used it for Christmas Day! We cooked it in the slow cooker for 14 hours and it was soft, fall apart, tasty goodness! Omitted the mushrooms and shallots as people who don't like them and it was STILL amazing! Highly recommend a try! We also left the spice mix on for a few hours to sink into the meet instead of adding straight away and cooking - flavoursome and delicious! Can't wait to cook it again with the mushrooms and shallots - great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Finley Stupkin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Wow, I just pulled this out of the oven and took my first bite, and couldn't even wait until after dinner to write my review. This brisket is the most delicious, perfectly seasoned, tender and sensational beef recipe I think a I have ever cooked. I used butter instead of margarine, and had no wine, so was forced to use grape juice instead, and it still turned out remarkable. There's no need to think twice before trying this recipe - it's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
made this in the crock pot for passover and it was beyond delicious. i followed everything to the letter except omitted the cayenne pepper. after i sauteed the mushroom and shallots, used the same pan to sear and brown the meat, 5 min per side as suggested adding the worcester sauce. put the meat into the crock pot and then added the remaining liquid ingredients and boiled this down to about half of what i started with. (got scared when i tasted this and found it to be really spicy! not to fear, though, the final product wasn't spicy at all) i added this liquid to the meat in the crockpot, topped it with the mushrooms and butter/margarine and set the meat on low and cooked for 10-11 hours. it was stunningly simple and so delicious that everyone took seconds and thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Amazing amazing amazing!!! Easy to prepare and probably the most delicious taste ever. Put nearly double the amount of onions and mushrooms in the second time we cooked it as they were so delicious .highly highly recommend...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
OMG this was AMAZING! I was being a cost-effective shopper and bought a 12.18 pound Brisket - mistake! Had to brown it in the Dutch oven which was close to impossible b/c it was so big. But we did it. I was afraid of using so much Worcestershire. It just felt weird to dump so much in but I followed the recipe to the T. Double of course. OMGoodness! It was amazing. Falling apart when we tried to cut it or move it so we just lifted the rack and hoped it didn't fall apart completely. Success. It was ridiculous. Thank goodness I used a ton of mushrooms and 2 large shallots b/c the mushroom mixture is soooo yummy. Can't rave enough. Will buy a smaller one next time. Thank goodness I had a huge Dutch oven or we would have been in trouble. The Au Jus is also amazing. Saved a large portion and skimmed off the fat this AM and you don't need to do anything to it but drizzle over the meat and your homemade mashed potatoes (but of course) 10 thumbs up. My new staple. I have no doubt it will be a hit at a party. The only change is - I used butter. I don't know when I last bought margarine more than 20 years ago for sure. Thanks for the GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I liked the flavors a lot, and the cayenne spiced it up just right, but did think it was too salty --- I will probably cut the salt in half at least, maybe more. Otherwise the meat came out great --- moist and really flavorful. Will definitely try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Wine-Braised Beef Brisket

See how to make this tasty slow-cooked beef brisket.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States