Sensational Slow Cooked Beef Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
This gets better each time I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef D

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
The mushrooms are to die for! My guests raved about this one. I would suggest cooking on low longer for more tender meat. Don't skip on the wine and butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Excellent! Skipped the mushrooms and shallots because my husband doesn't like them. Worchestershire sauce stunk up the house horribly and I was afraid the brisket was going to be disgusting. But it could not have been better!! Incredibly tender and flavorful. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Perfect savory brisket. I used extra mushrooms and shallots and whisked some of the cooking broth with tomato sauce for a more clingy topping. Served with roasted potatoes and french cut green beans - amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
Absolutely wonderful! I was looking for a good brisket recipe, and so far, this one definitely takes the cake! The kick from the cayenne made the meat just a hint spicy, which I prefer, and the mushrooms and onions were absolutely fabulous with the meat. I ended up making a little too much sauce, so instead of drippings, I had more like a bit of soup. Turned it into homemade gravy, and it was so good over potatoes and with the meat! I will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Isidor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Easy to make, so tender it falls apart on your plate!! Actual flavor of the meat was a little bland, but that may be the cut, or that this is the first time I've ever cooked a brisket! Will definitely make again for next Hanukkah. Husband and babies loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This is better then anything I have had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by waddle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasant Hill, California, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Wow! I followed the recipe exactly except I cooked it in a crock pot for 24 hours on low instead of a dutch oven and it was AMAZING! The taste was sensational! The meat just melted in your mouth! It took some prep work but it was well worth it! My husband couldn't believe the brisket shrunk so much. It really didn't that much. I grazed a bit when it was almost done. lol. This recipe is definitely a keeper! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yankee Girl & Southern Boy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
made this in the crock pot for passover and it was beyond delicious. i followed everything to the letter except omitted the cayenne pepper. after i sauteed the mushroom and shallots, used the same pan to sear and brown the meat, 5 min per side as suggested adding the worcester sauce. put the meat into the crock pot and then added the remaining liquid ingredients and boiled this down to about half of what i started with. (got scared when i tasted this and found it to be really spicy! not to fear, though, the final product wasn't spicy at all) i added this liquid to the meat in the crockpot, topped it with the mushrooms and butter/margarine and set the meat on low and cooked for 10-11 hours. it was stunningly simple and so delicious that everyone took seconds and thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
OMG this was AMAZING! I was being a cost-effective shopper and bought a 12.18 pound Brisket - mistake! Had to brown it in the Dutch oven which was close to impossible b/c it was so big. But we did it. I was afraid of using so much Worcestershire. It just felt weird to dump so much in but I followed the recipe to the T. Double of course. OMGoodness! It was amazing. Falling apart when we tried to cut it or move it so we just lifted the rack and hoped it didn't fall apart completely. Success. It was ridiculous. Thank goodness I used a ton of mushrooms and 2 large shallots b/c the mushroom mixture is soooo yummy. Can't rave enough. Will buy a smaller one next time. Thank goodness I had a huge Dutch oven or we would have been in trouble. The Au Jus is also amazing. Saved a large portion and skimmed off the fat this AM and you don't need to do anything to it but drizzle over the meat and your homemade mashed potatoes (but of course) 10 thumbs up. My new staple. I have no doubt it will be a hit at a party. The only change is - I used butter. I don't know when I last bought margarine more than 20 years ago for sure. Thanks for the GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States