Seminary Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
I eliminated the chocolate chips and nuts and used whole wheat flour. They came out healthy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
When I make muffins with oatmeal (or oatmeal and nuts combined) I try to use half the amount, let it sit for five minutes or so after the batter's been mixed so that the oats have a chance to soak up some of the liquid added to the recipe, then see if the batter needs more oatmeal or not. This muffin batter did not--1/2 cup of oatmeal was plenty. I ran the oats through my food processor for a finer texture before using it. I cut the brown sugar back to a half cup, used my own homemade applesauce and only used a pinch of salt. Because I'm out of chocolate chips right now, I used raisins. These turned out very good--moist and chewy with a great deal of flavor from all the different additions in this muffin. We enjoyed these very much. I'm really glad I cut the oatmeal in half, I think if I hadn't, the muffins would have been too dry. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
I have been trying to reduce my husband's cholesterol. He needs snacks to take to work for his break. These were just WONDERFUL...very moist and sweet. I gave some to my elderly parents and they loved them too. I used egg substitute and also pecans because that's all I had. Very yummy and good for you! I LOVE this site!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LWAGAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centerport, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2001
Delightful! What a great change from the plain old banana muffins. The oatmeal adds texture, and the cinnamon adds a tasty twist. And these are fat free?!? Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Mmm, these muffins make a nice, hearty snack. I made the recipe exactly as directed with the exception of using Orgran No Egg Natural Egg Replacer since my son is allergic to eggs. I also omitted the nuts since we aren't big fans. The larger muffins took about 18-19 minutes, and the mini-muffins I made to use up the batter took about thirteen minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
Really did stay moist - didn't become gummy like muffins made with applesauce have a tendency to do. Loved the flavor - great with tea! (I also used blueberries instead of chocolate and nuts)I may add more cinnamon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2001
In reply to first reviewer, these are NOT fat free muffins - they have chocolate chips and walnuts in them! The nutritional data lists them as having 6 grams of fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Very light texture. Used whole wheat flour and raisins instead of the chocolate chips. Hard to resist not having a second. Have to keep a lookout for ripe bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2000
These are really delicious and easy to make. Our whole family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Absolutely loved this recipe! You can add just about anything to it and it still tastes great! I added raisins, blueberries, and an oatmeal cinnamon topping. Beautiful result =] Thank you for submitting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss. Sweet Pea

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States