Seminary Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Used whole wheat flour instead of white. Froze for School lunchboxes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by camflint
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Delicious, moist, textured, lightly spicy. Absolutely love these muffins, as did the many people I shared them with. Accidentally added a small amount of olive oil to the batter before baking but this seems to only have enhanced the texture... slightly sticky... if making them a little less healthy. I say, Oh well! They're fantastic. I'll be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
This recipe is wonderful! I made some change. I used organic whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose flour, added some organic wheat bran, oat bran, crushed flax seeds, sunflower seeds, reduced the amount of chocolate, and used dark chocolate instead. I also increased the dose of cinnamon and reduced sugar and used Stevia instead. For applesauce, I used Sarah's applesauce recipe with honey and a bit of muscovado sugar instead of white sugar. It turned out great, healthy taste. I wish that I measured ingredients I added!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Tried these because of the many positive reviews, but I felt they were just "so-so". The strongest flavor was the banana... so it seemed kind of like a banana-oatmeal muffin. They weren't awful, but not terrific either. On the positive side, they had a good, solid texture (which I like my muffins to have) and are very low in fat. However, I probably won't be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLBH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
I have tried it twice. They are healthy and delicious. I cannot use walnuts. I use sunflower seeds and craisins.We top with a little sweetened coconut or torbinado sugar or the sunflower seeds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dickson City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cape Girardeau, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Great moist muffin recipe! I didn't have any quick oats, so I substituted 3 packs of cinnamon apple instant oatmeal and then reduced the brown sugar to 1/3 c. and the cinnamon to 1/2 tsp. It was still very sweet bc of the sweetened instant oatmeal, so I'm thinking I may reduce it to 1/4 c or take the sugar out all together. I used raisins instead of the choc chips. The recipe ended up making 20 muffins. My teenage boys ate them all up by end of day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
This is a great muffin recipe. I wanted mini muffins so I added 3/4 mini chips instead of regular and also cut the salt to 1/2 tsp, added 3/4 tsp cinnamon and 1/4 nutmeg. Delicious and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I used whole wheat pastry flour, cut the brown sugar in half, used dark chocolate chips instead of semisweet, and added nutmeg, allspice, and ground ginger instead of just cinnamon. Oh my goodness... best muffin ever! (as far as healthy-ish muffins go anyway. I could very easily eat way too many of these. Of of my favorite things to bake now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tammy.carreras

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
my whole family raves about those muffins! The addition of oatmeal brings out an interesting texture. I have used oat or spelt flour to make those, and they turn out good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
These muffins are so delicious. I am a picky eater and have been looking for a alternative to boaring oatmeal for breakfast that I can eat at work. I tried this recipe out to a resounding success throughout the whole family. Adding the choc chips definitely makes them better, but they would be good without. The best thing about these muffins are that they stay moist all week. We store them in a cupcake carrier in the pantry for easy distribution. Will be making a double batch this weekend, so all of us will have enough to get through the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States