Selma's Best Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Great crispy cookie. This is a traditional cookie recipe. Did not add the cinnamon. Just prefer it without it. Different oils will change the texture of the cookie. Some may want to add a little salt, I did not. Pick another recipe if you want a soft cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a1semisweet

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I really enjoyed these cookies. I did make one change though. I always taste the cookie dough before baking and thought it was a bit bland so I added 1/2 tsp. salt. I think if you used butter or margarine you wouldn't need to add salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duchess, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
These were okay. I thought they were too sweet and they didn't spread out like I thought they would. The dough was a bit dry, but I just used a scoop and it worked pretty well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Prague, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I tried this recipe and knew that I did everything correctly. measurements and temperature. the taste is okay, but its gooey and sloppy. It didn't even form right! Worst is, some cookie on the baking sheet weren't cooked at all! I think, someone should modify the recipe. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather de Vega
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
These are really good, but are more like a sugar cookie than a traditional oatmeal cookie. I liked them, but still prefer the traditional, more cake-like oatmeal cookies. I also added half a cup of flaked coconut to this recipe and it made them extra yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather de Vega

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
This is a great oatmeal cookie recipe - I like to add a little bit of peanutbutter and some peanutbutter chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iLikeCereal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
My co-worker makes these all the time and I LOVE LOVE LOVE them. An easy recipe that makes a great *crispy* oatmeal cookie. Don't make if you are looking for a chewy cookie, these are not that. But boy are they good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Moneypenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
These cookies were very good, I prefer a more cake like oatmeal cookie and these were kind of flat and crispy. Next time I would use less butter as they were a little greasy, but over all very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2002
These cookies wouldn't form a dough without some effort. There seemed to be too dry. Next time I make them I may try adding some milk. Regardless, they tasted good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States