Self Frosting Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
I just started baking. I'm seventeen and I'm just trying to find recipes that will be good for my family when I get responsible enough to have one..=D..so I cooked my mom dinner saturday night and made these as dessert and they are FABULOUS right out of the oven when they are still a little warm yet. I went light on the oats because I added raisins to half of the batch-MISTAKE. The ones ROLLED IN the powdered sugar didn't even taste like oatmeal cookies when cooled, but the ones i didn't roll in the confectioners' sugar tasted like oatmeal. MY ADVICE: add all the oats, add raisins if you want, don't use the confectioners' sugar. these are amazing and the best oatmeal cookies my mom said she'd ever had, and oatmeal are her favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2004
I hate to give a negative review but I thought I had a very sweet tooth. I love sugar, but these were like taking a teaspoonful of sugar and putting it in your mouth. Definietly not disgusting cookies, goodness knows my kids LOVED them, but it's the first time anything has been to sugary for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LimeGreenKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manning, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
These are the best oatmeal cookies I have ever made or tasted. I chilled the dough for 3 hours, and I rolled it lightly in 10x sugar-the self made glaze is terrific. They are chewy, not cake like. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Wonderful cookies. Be careful to not overbake. I learned from my first batch that they should only be baked for about 8 minutes, just until they are set. Watch closely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2001
This is a great recipe.... the cookies covered with the confectioners sugar take on a delicate texture. My kids really liked them..... and they are picky about oatmeal cookies.... I added golden raisins, coconut and white choc chips.... yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Not convinced these cookies make their own frosting. The only thing on top of the cookies is some remnants of the powdered sugar. That aside, though, these are pretty good cookies. I didn't think they were too sweet, and I like the fact that you can use oil bc if I ever run out of shortening or margarine, these will be my go to oatmeal cookies. I don't think they are too greasy. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
These did "frost" themselves. They were okay. Came out dry and crunchy. They did not spread while baking. Good flavor, but not a chewy tender cookie. Probably won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
These cookies were ok, but not the greatest. Rather plain. A good cookie when you're out of butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Um... They were cookies. I tried these cookies because I am out of butter and my margarine wasn't softened. I can hold my own when it comes to sugar, and I felt these were too sweet. Also, I concur with the 'greasy' feeling. The oil, while interesting, made, well, oily cookies. I wonder how they'd do substituting applesauce for half to all of the oil... We dished them with a cookie scoop and rolled them into 'walnut-sized' balls; they did not bake in 8-10 minutes - they probably took 13. They receive a 3-star rating because my husband liked them, but I assure you I won't waste ingredients on this recipe again (unless it's a half batch to test the applesauce theory).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lugoff, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I made these about 2 hours ago and they were terrible when they came out of the oven. 1 hour later they were still sub-par. 2 hours later they were very good. Don't give into the normal tempatation to eat them directly out of the oven because they don't taste good. Give 'em time....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States