Self Frosting Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
We will always love our traditional oatmeal cookies, but these made for a delicious and interesting change! I made them with corn oil instead of vegetable for a friend who is temporarily on a no dairy or soy diet. I tested out the recipe on my husband, who promptly ate so many of the batch I had to make another for my friend! These are a great alternative when you're looking for something a little different. The powdered sugar "icing" is not only tasty, it makes for a gorgeous cookie with a crackled top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
I made these for a family gathering and they were a huge hit. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
I didn't know if they would turn out right when I read the recipe, but I'm so glad I tried them! I added dried cranberries. My family loves them! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2004
I hate to give a negative review but I thought I had a very sweet tooth. I love sugar, but these were like taking a teaspoonful of sugar and putting it in your mouth. Definietly not disgusting cookies, goodness knows my kids LOVED them, but it's the first time anything has been to sugary for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LimeGreenKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manning, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2004
These are good cookies, but very sweet. I even tried not putting the powdered sugar on them and it didn't make much difference. If you like really sweet cookies, these are good and easy to make.They would make a good Holiday cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harsens Island, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
These are the best oatmeal cookies I have ever made or tasted. I chilled the dough for 3 hours, and I rolled it lightly in 10x sugar-the self made glaze is terrific. They are chewy, not cake like. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
These are wonderful cookies. Easy to make (I'm not much of a cook) and everyone loves them! I had the same problem with the powdered sugar not turning into icing but obviously I used to much. I'll get it right next time. But either with powedered sugar topping or icing topping they are wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
fantastic cookie. I could not get a hang of the sugar frosting thing.. they just ended up powdered. they tasted great anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
I agree that the flavor is nice - esp. with butterscotch chips added - but I guess I'm the only one who thought they were a bit greasy. I've never made cookies with oil before... not sure I'll want to again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
The cookies turned out great. The one problem I encountered (and easily corrected) was putting too much powdered sugar on the cookies. If you put too much on, it won't melt into the cookies and you're left with big white patches, not icing. Just make sure to pat off all the loose powdered sugar and you'll be fine! Everyone loved these cookies. They're chewy with the perfect amount of crisp. The texture is very good and the taste is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States