Self Frosting Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I made these about 2 hours ago and they were terrible when they came out of the oven. 1 hour later they were still sub-par. 2 hours later they were very good. Don't give into the normal tempatation to eat them directly out of the oven because they don't taste good. Give 'em time....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
I REALLY DIDN'T CARE FOR THESE COOKIES. THEY ARE TOO SWEET AND GREASY. I WOULD RATHER HAVE OLD-FASHION OATMEAL COOKIES. THE POWDERED SUGAR DIDN'T TURN TO FROSTING JUST EXTRA SUGAR. NOT GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
These did "frost" themselves. They were okay. Came out dry and crunchy. They did not spread while baking. Good flavor, but not a chewy tender cookie. Probably won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
These cookies were very good! I did not use the extra sugar to coat the cookies. The cookies were sweet enough without it. Also, I did as another reader advised and added butterscotch chips. Next time I will try it without the extra chips. The recipe did not not make as much as indicated...chef's fault...as I ate more of the dough (better than chocolate chip cookie dough!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
I just started baking. I'm seventeen and I'm just trying to find recipes that will be good for my family when I get responsible enough to have one..=D..so I cooked my mom dinner saturday night and made these as dessert and they are FABULOUS right out of the oven when they are still a little warm yet. I went light on the oats because I added raisins to half of the batch-MISTAKE. The ones ROLLED IN the powdered sugar didn't even taste like oatmeal cookies when cooled, but the ones i didn't roll in the confectioners' sugar tasted like oatmeal. MY ADVICE: add all the oats, add raisins if you want, don't use the confectioners' sugar. these are amazing and the best oatmeal cookies my mom said she'd ever had, and oatmeal are her favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
These are SWEET and I even cut the white sugar down to 1/4 c based on other reviews saying these were too sweet. My husband liked them and said they reminded him of eating oatmeal as a kid, so I averaged his 5 stars with my 1 star to rate these at 3. They did take longer to cook and the powdered sugar kind of glazed in some areas and in others it didn't. They did get a nice "crackled" appearance kind of like Snickerdoodles and are a thick "puffy" cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
I just made these cookies. Can someone tell me if I did something wrong? First of all, it was very hard to stir in the oatmeal. then, they did not bake in 10 minutes, it was more like 15-20. I followed the recipe to the t. They were very good though. I want to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
these cookies were AWESOME. They dissapeared in 2 hours from the cookie jar. But one thing is my parents thought they were too sweet so next time I'm not going to roll them in confectioners sugar. These cookies are good with nuts or chocolate chips too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Niwot, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
My family and friends love this cookie.It makes a big batch that gets eaten quickly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
We will always love our traditional oatmeal cookies, but these made for a delicious and interesting change! I made them with corn oil instead of vegetable for a friend who is temporarily on a no dairy or soy diet. I tested out the recipe on my husband, who promptly ate so many of the batch I had to make another for my friend! These are a great alternative when you're looking for something a little different. The powdered sugar "icing" is not only tasty, it makes for a gorgeous cookie with a crackled top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States