Self Frosting Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
These cookies were ok, but not the greatest. Rather plain. A good cookie when you're out of butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Amzing! I made this treat for a christmas party with my friends. Absolutely amazing! Everyone (Including me) couldn't keep our hands off of them, and they lasted less then an hour between the 8 of us :o. Definately one of My Favorite recipes ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
WOW! These cookies are delicious!!! I read all of the suggestions & I did add golden raisins, & white chocolate chips. I wanted to add coconut, but didn't have any so I added pineapple instead & these cookies melt in your mouth! I followed the rest of the recipe to a T. They need to be cold or they spread when you are cooking them. I made the balls & kept them in the freezer until i was ready for them. Tried some without the powdered sugar too & they were great both ways! Will definitely be making these over & over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Um... They were cookies. I tried these cookies because I am out of butter and my margarine wasn't softened. I can hold my own when it comes to sugar, and I felt these were too sweet. Also, I concur with the 'greasy' feeling. The oil, while interesting, made, well, oily cookies. I wonder how they'd do substituting applesauce for half to all of the oil... We dished them with a cookie scoop and rolled them into 'walnut-sized' balls; they did not bake in 8-10 minutes - they probably took 13. They receive a 3-star rating because my husband liked them, but I assure you I won't waste ingredients on this recipe again (unless it's a half batch to test the applesauce theory).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lugoff, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Too sweet for my liking! They tasted like Frosted Flakes Cereal without milk. The dough was sticky if I rolled it into balls and let it sit for a moment before I dusted the tops with the confectioners' sugar. I added 1/8 tsp. of cinnamon - but these were very sugary - I was only able to give 2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracy m.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Wonderful cookies. Be careful to not overbake. I learned from my first batch that they should only be baked for about 8 minutes, just until they are set. Watch closely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Not convinced these cookies make their own frosting. The only thing on top of the cookies is some remnants of the powdered sugar. That aside, though, these are pretty good cookies. I didn't think they were too sweet, and I like the fact that you can use oil bc if I ever run out of shortening or margarine, these will be my go to oatmeal cookies. I don't think they are too greasy. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I liked these cookies a lot but I changed the recipe a bit. I only had about a 1/4c of brown sugar so I added cinnamon, nutmeg, ground cloves, and raisins to add some sweetness and spice. I only used about 2/3 cup oil and replaced 1/2 cup of the flour with whole wheat flour. The cookies stayed in their little ball form which meant I had to cook them for about 13 mins. but they were worth the extra little wait. I wouldn't say they self frost though however I did like the sugar coating on them so I'm pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veedubgrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I had problems with the confecitoners sugar too. They were good though even though my husband thought they were a bit too crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This was a good ccokie! Very sweet but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States