Self-Filled Cupcakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I searched for this recipe because I have been making these for years and couldn't find my recipe. From reading the reviews, I don't think people understand that the filling is supposed to taste more like a cheesecake. It needs the egg. Don't eliminate that. It's not light and fluffy. The heaviness is what makes it sink and self fill. It works well with any chocolate cake mix. Like any cheesecake product, it is rich and does not really need any frosting, although a small dollop makes them look pretty. The recipe I had before mixed the chocolate chips right in with the filling. I like that better. I was a little disappointed with this recipe because it didn't sink and wasn't as heavy as usual, but they still tasted great. My family loves them. If you don't frost them, they are even great for breakfast! I think I may have eliminated the salt and I used mini chips instead of regular. Maybe that is what kept them from sinking. Still, an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
These were wonderful! Super rich and yummy. Top with the Whipped Cream Cheese Frosting and they will be a hit - though are very rich/sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
i decreased the amount of sugar and added some vanilla extract. the cream cheese mixture really did not add any extra oomph to this recipe - add more than a teaspoon if you want the cupcakes to have as much cream cheese mixture as the picture. don't be afraid to add more than a few chocolate chips, as well. overall, a tasty cupcake, but i expected more from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Made these today for a Father's Day dinner and they were great! However, I did alter the cream cheese filling as the first group baked really didn"t have enough as well as it was too runny. So I doubled the cream cheese and sugar but still only used one egg. The rest were great. In the future I will also add toasted pecans to the top before baking for an added crunch and something to take just a bit of the sweetness down a notch. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fremont, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Sault Sainte Marie, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I wont be making this again. Definatly not a fan. I was looking for a creamier filling but they turned out like regular cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barstow, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
The cupcake was good, but I thought the filling was a bit too sweet. Next time i'll just fill it with frosting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
These cupcakes are great. I am not a good cupcake maker. They mostly come out dry. NOT these! They were still moist on day 3, when we finished them off. I did not have a cake mix on hand, so I used "Devil's Food Cake I" for the cake part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
i tried the recipe twice.. the cup cakes were juicy but the filling did not come out good.. it was stuck at the bottom!! but all in all its a good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
Absolutely delicious! So easy to make and they are wonderful! I liked them better a little warm rather than cooled, though. I definitely recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany Muston

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Waynesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
These were pretty good cupcakes even though I used the fudge chocolate mix instead of devil's food cake they still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harare, Harare, Zimbabwe
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jungle Animal Cupcakes

See how to make a whole zoo’s worth of animal cupcakes!

How to Make Frog Cupcakes

Have a hopping good time with frosted frog cupcakes.

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States