Self-Filled Cupcakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
These cupcakes were some of the best that I have ever made. I think I found a solution for the reviewers who didnt have enough cake batter and or too much filling left over. I only filled the liners about 1/4 for the bottom layer. I used alittle over a tablespoon of the filling. For the top layer, I only filled the liners to 2/3 full. I got 24 cupcakes, and had no batter or filling left. the amounts were perfect, for me anyways. Mine came out perfectly moist and sooooo delicious to say the least!Another thing was that I only left mine in the oven for 18 minutes , exactly so mine werent burnt on the bottom. I had no problems with the filling sinking to the bottom and that is probably due to how long I whipped it with the mixer. Very light and fluffy. I used a Devil's Food cake mix and a Chocolate Fudge frosting. If I could I would give these a 10 star rating. Thanks for the great recipe Star!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
417 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
These cupcakes were very good. I made the cupcakes with a box of devil's food cake but I think that for next time I will use a box of dark chocolate mix. (it would bring out the flavor of the filling more) I definitely recommend using more than just a teaspoon of the cream cheese filling. Use more like 2 TABLESPOONS of it and less cupcake batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
These taste great especially using mini chocolate chips in the the filling and topping with the Cream Cheese Frosting II recipe on this website by JJ! This recipe makes more like 2 dozen. Make sure you do not OVERFILL the cup cake holder. Only fill 1/4 of the way before adding the batter and then top fill to 1/2 - 3/4 filled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2002
Stop the cupcake recipe search, this is by far the best cupcake I have ever baked. The texture is so moist, I only frosted half the batch! I may experiment with white cake mix, strawberry cream cheese, and white chocolate chips next time. Absolutely yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gardner, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
This is amazing. I did use mini chips like many others suggested. I have found that if you just spoon the filling on the top, it doesn't usually fall to the bottom. When I made the cupcakes it made 24 regular and 18-24 mini. Normal box mixes make 24 but I fugured that with adding the filling, the rest of the mix had to go somewhere. I get more compliments on this then anything I make. I will definately try other's ideas on alterations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Wow. I hardley ever make cupcakes b/c they turn out dry. NOT the case with these sinful treats!! I made them for my Father-in-law's 60th b-day, and they were a huge hit! I followed the directions accordingly to measurements. I did however make the task simpler. I poured the cake batter into a ziplock and piped small amounts into the cupcake papers, so I would not overdo it, before I could get the cream chz in there. I also put the cream chz in a ziplock and did the same. Topped them off with another squirt of cake batter and popped them in the oven. To keep them from burning, Take them out when they still seem a bit jiggly. The cream chz needs time to cool, to set up. These again were awesome. And even better when they have had a few hours to cool off. I topped mine with pecan and almond frosting. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliShaluvsfood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Culleoka, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
These were sooo good! I too used mini chocolate chips but I added some toffee bits as well. I filled about halfway full w/ cake mix, added a small tbp. of filling & then topped w/ just a bit more cake mixture. It didn't completely cover the flling but it spread while cooking & did. The filling did settle more towards the bottom but I didn't get the pit in mine that some reviewers had problems with. I did use the Betty Crocker butter recipe mix & thought they tasted great. I sprayed my muffin papers to aid in removal but not sure it was necessary. I got about 20 cupcakes & still had a little filling left over so I followed the example of other reviewers & poured it into mini-muffin tins & baked them at 300 degrees for about 30 minutes. I was transporting the cupcakes out of town so I did not frost them...I just sprinkled them w/ powdered sugar. Thanks for a wonderful treat...everyone enjoyed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
These cupcakes got rave reviews! I used chocolate cake mix with white chocolate chips (instead of semi-sweet). I was still getting compliments days later. I will definitely make these again and play around with different flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
These are the best cupcakes ever! I made them for my kids' birthday party and everyone loved them. I made a few changes: substituted Neufchatel for the cream cheese, and made the filling with Splenda instead of sugar. I also used mini-chips, since the first time I made these, the filling sank to the bottom. The mini-chips work better. I used all the filling except a Tablespoon or so, and had about 3/4 cup of cake batter leftover. I will do it this way next time, it's better if you use lots of filling (like half batter, half filling almost), then just drizzle a little more batter over the top. This makes 24 cupcakes, not 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
These were very easy and tasty. I used devils food cake mix because that's what I had. I dyed the cream cheese orange for halloween and frosted with french buttercream frosting (also dyed orange) from this site. Awesome and well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 338) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Cupcakes

Dairy-free cupcakes flavored with vanilla extract and coconut oil.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States