Self-Filled Cupcakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I really expected these to have a slight cheese cake taste but they didn't. My husband thought the cake was boring tasting and didn't even notice the filling (aside from the fact that it was white). Over all I don't really think it was worth the extra work to make the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by midear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
These are easy and so good! We didn't frost them, no need! I will make these again! I would like to try this idea with other flavors too! Thanks for sharing :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUCISMILES

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I made Mini size cupcakes. I cut the cooking time in half, and used cream cheese frosting.... YUUUUMMMMMM! Thanks for the AMAZING recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DArcy Davis

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
These were great tasting cupcakes but we were disappointed that the filling was cakelike instead of gooey or creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I made these w/ yellow cake mix since that was what I had. I added the cream cheese and mixed in some cocoa instead of chips. I think next time I would add some vanilla chips or maybe butterscotch to a few to see how they do. Mine mixed up more like a mousse. I will try next time w/ red velvet. I have ate the ones made just like the recipe before and they are wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasksi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Oh, these are so good. I followed the recipe exactly as written with the exception that I put a tad more filling in each c.c. I had some batter left for about 4 more cupcakes, but I didn't want to keep oven on for just four, so I used 2 large glass pyrex custard cups and made 2 BIG ones. I didn't have any leftover batter nor filling...Perfect. Cannot wait to make these again. Be sure to check them before the suggested baking time on package because ovens are not all the same....Thanks for a different cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Overall, this is a very good recipe for those who don't want to do this kind of cupcake by making a cake batter from scratch. For my 1st time, I used BC milk chocolate cake mix with 1 tsp. of Godiva liqueur thrown in for good measure. Instead of choc. chips I used some crushed Heath bars. Definitely use more than 1 tsp. of the cream cheese mix in these cupcakes... I followed the directions and now I regret that decision because I have leftover cream cheese mix in the refrigerator and 24 cupcakes that could use some more of the real good stuff in them. I followed some other posters' advice and mixed the cream cheese, sugar and egg inside a quart-size plastic bag. Super easy to just clip a corner off and use it to pipe the mix into the pans. No muss, no fuss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
these were just ok at first. however on the second day they were awesome! the filling was a lot more prominent and it set off the sweetness perfectly! I made my own cake because I don't like mixes but this idea is fantastic! will try again with strawberry cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
FABULOUS!! Follow the recipe and you will wow everyone. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
As other suggested, I used 1 tbls. of the cream cheese filling rather than just one tsp. I found that the cream cheese filling migrated to the bottom of the cupcake. The cupcake pretty much fell apart at the seam of cream cheese filling when they were first baked. I stored some of the cupcakes in the refrigerator and found that after a day in the cold, the cupcakes held together much better. I frosted the 24 cupcakes with the Sour Cream Chocolate Frosting from this site. The frosting was wonderful -- I heaped it -- can't have too much frosting! I originally had given a lower rating, but received so many compliments that I upped it to 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by agoodman5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gladstone, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 338) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Cupcakes

Dairy-free cupcakes flavored with vanilla extract and coconut oil.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States