Self-Filled Cupcakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
I was very pleased with this recipe. It's perfect when you want something quick but a step above a cake mix alone. Update: I tried an experiment and it worked: added a strawberry slice on top of each teaspoon of filling before covering with the remainder of cake batter. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2002
Stop the cupcake recipe search, this is by far the best cupcake I have ever baked. The texture is so moist, I only frosted half the batch! I may experiment with white cake mix, strawberry cream cheese, and white chocolate chips next time. Absolutely yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gardner, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
Thankfully I don't have to give an oral review of this recipe since my mouth is full of chocolate cupcakes!!!!!!!! These were incredible! So easy to make and they tasted fabulous. I didn't add any frosting on the top and they were still excellent-just the right amount of sweet (and trust me, I don't have just a sweet TOOTH-it's more like a whole mouth full of sweet cravings!) Try these cupcakes, you will love them. Thanks for sharing such an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2001
I MADE THESE TO TAKE TO WORK THEY WERE A BIG HIT. I WILL MAKE THESE AGAIN. THANK YOU STAR
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2001
Unbelievably easy and rich!! No need to go w/a recipe that calls for making these from scratch - the boxed cake mix works great. The top dips in a little upon cooking (no big deal.) I am surprised to hear myself say that I recommend using cream cheese frosting instead of chocolate, b/c otherwise it's really TOO much chocolate (something I NEVER thought I'd say...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
I just tried this recipe tonight. And it turned out great!! Although I accidentally put a little less filling in them and had some filling left over, it went great! I decided to try to bake the leftover filling in other cupcake cups. I figure I had nothing to loose, and even that turned out great! I didn't even bother to frost them and they are great. My husband loved it, my kids loved it. Thanks alot! I will DEFINATELY use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
These cupcakes are FABULOUS! They were very moist and chocolatey. I did not frost them, and they were perfect. I also had a bit of filling left over and simply baked it alone in muffin cups. Those turned out delish also! I had enough mix to make 2 dozen muffins. I will definately be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2002
These cupcakes are amazing. I made some to share with my co-workers, then made more to share the next week because they disappeared so fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
Oh yes! I made these for my son's 5th birthday, for him to take to school. The teachers all RAVED about them! I altered the box cake recipe a bit, but used the filling recipe to the letter. I doubled it, and used the leftovers by themselves (I kept those for myself, SO good!). Definately a nice twist to otherwise boring chocolate cupcakes, with a minimum of work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYTHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
My hubby loved these cupcakes..Made 1 1/2 dozen plus 1 dozen mini cupcakes. I didn't use filling on the mini's just in case we hated the filling but next time will use the filling them also..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AVIANBROOKE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

See how to make super-fun ice cream cone cupcakes!

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States