Self-Filled Cupcakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Followed the instructions just like in the original directions and they turned out perfectly! Definitely a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theproudtexan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
These cupcakes are incredible! I make them with Duncan Hines Red Velvet cake mix, then chop up white chocolate chips in place of semi-sweet. They are decadent with cream cheese frosting! For valentine's day fun I colored the filling and frosting pink, so cute! There are a few tricks to making them though: put the cake mix in a gallon ziploc bag and cut the corner for easy and mess-free filling, do the same with the cream cheese mixture. Only put a thin layer of mix, then the filling in the center but not going to the edges, and cover with the rest of the cake mix. I make these all the time and practice makes perfect. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie :o)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallbrook, California, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I made these for my husband's birthday and used a triple chocolate fudge cake mix. I also used a little bit of strawberry cream cheese to supplement the regular cream cheese. They were easy and definitely good, especially with chocolate frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
These guys were a hit. I was worried about the cream cheese mix as it was very runny and I used just a little extra cheese than it called for. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla to the filling. The filling didn't sink and they cooked perfectly. Only trouble I had was I WOULD have had 24 out of the batch but I only had one muffin pan so had to make 12 first and I was just a little too generous with filling them (they overflowed slightly) and ended up with 21. They didn't need icing! These stand on their own. Thanks for sharing this, Star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
These cupcakes are fabulous! Someone suggested putting the mix in a ziploc bag to pipe it into the muffin tins....I took it one step further and actually mixed my batter in the ziploc bag. It worked great! I had no issues with amounts, worked out evenly. I didn't ice mine as we all felt that would have been too much. Just gave them a dusting of icing sugar. I made one batch in a beautiful flower muffin tin I have and the ladies wouldn't believe I made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I used a vanilla cake mix for this and I added cocoa powder to the cream cheese filling instead of chocolate chips. I also filled my cupcake liners 1/2 full of cake batter and piped the cream cheese mixture into the center of the cupcake until my cups were 2/3 full. My filling did sink to the bottom of my cupcakes, not sure if its because I didn't whip it long enough in my KA mixer, or if its because I piped it in but either way it still tasted delicious... it reminded me of chocolate mousse because of the cocoa powder I added. It was light, fluffy and ill make this again in the future. Although I may try and omit the egg from the filling and pipe it into an already baked cupcake just to see if it works. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
These are the best chocolate cupcakes! I have made them several times and they always come out perfect. I use mini choc. chips in the cream cheese filling and frost them with Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting from this site-- PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlessedWithBoys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Easy and yummy. I got lots of rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairhope, Alabama, USA
Living In: Daphne, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I used a vanilla cake mix and added cocoa powder and a little extra sugar to the cream cheese mixture. Very good! No need to use frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
very good, I made mini muffins, next time I will make the regular size so the filling will be more prominent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailleet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

See how to make super-fun ice cream cone cupcakes!

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States