Self-Filled Cupcakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Creative and fun! I eliminated the chocolate chips, added a teaspoon of vanilla, and tinted the cream cheese batter orange for Halloween cupcakes. For the cake batter I used coffee rather than water and added one teaspoon each of vanilla and chocolate extracts. I used a gallon Ziploc bag to pipe the cake batter, and a quart-sized bag for the cream cheese batter. Sure made the process a lot quicker and neater! I frosted them with the frosting from "Cake with Buttercream Decorating Frosting," also from this site. I sprinkled the cupcakes with Halloween sprinkles and perched a Jack-o-Lantern Peep on each. Delightful with its ribbon of orange tinted cream cheese filling and, oh yeah, creamy, chocolatey delicious too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
pretty good. sort of like a black bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I made these with a spice cake mix, I also added 1 can of sliced carrots, pureed. Then instead of chocolate chips I used butterscotch chips, nice fall tailgating dessert. They were a huge hit! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Good! Not out of this world great, but plain old good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Absolutely delicious. Made 20 cupcakes instead of twelve. (Not a bad thing!) I replaced the oil for the cake batter with applesauce, which makes the cupcakes healthier AND keeps them moist. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Very easy to make and super delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
really really good cupcakes! my children and their friends gobbled them up, still warm from the oven, so that the cream inside was really luscious. Absolutely a winner, and ready in a flash, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
These are the best cupcakes! My family requests them all the time! I add a teaspoon of almond extract to the filling and use white chocolate chips. They turn out perfect everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer
Home Town: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
LOVE LOVE LOVE these cupcakes! I used a devil's food cake mix (least expensive on the shelf). After reading the reviews of other's, I did make a few adjustments. I ADDED 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract to the cream cheese filling. >>>I didn't add the chocolate chips to the cream cheese filling. I ended up using about 1/2 C of semi-sweet choc. morsels. Not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I hoped to follow this recipe exactly as written, but I didn't have any cake mix at hand. I did have a box of brownie mix, so I used that and went by the more cake-like brownie instructions that called for the use of 3 eggs instead of 2. I also added a couple of tablespoons of milk to the batter. I made the cream cheese portion as instruction but mixed it in a food processor and let it blend long enough for the mixture to really thicken. I put a tablespoon of the brownie batter into each cup with 2 tablespoons of cheese mixture on top then filled the rest o the cups to the rims with brownie batter. I had a small amount of brownie batter left over. I let bake for half an hour. They came out looking like a mosaic cupcake rather than a filled one. Nonetheless, this got great reviews, both unfrosted and with milk chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

See how to make super-fun ice cream cone cupcakes!

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States