Self-Filled Cupcakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Made these and added an extra egg yolk to the cake mix along with vanilla and additional cocoa and sugar. Used mini semisweet chips, and then used the standard chocolate frosting on the Hershey's cocoa box. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I've made these for years and they are always a huge hit. I usually use a dark chocolate cake mix. I think they are rich enough that they don't need frosting, but they are prettier with a dollop of chocolate or cream cheese frosting. The white frosting in the picture does not seem to match the cupcake flavors. I don't know why readers are concerned with seeing the filling on the top or the pit sometimes caused when the filling sinks. It's part of the character of these cupcakes. They are filled and the filling is heavy so naturally, it will sink. Putting the filling in last will keep it from sinking all the way to the bottom. If you put it in the middle it will end up mostly on the bottom. This filling is not light and fluffy. It's more like a cheesecake...heavy and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
The first time I made these, I followed the directions exactly, but didn't like that the chocolate chips were hard inside the cupcake. So the next time I made them, I melted the chocolate chips first before adding them to the cream cheese mixture. I think they turned out better! Nice and moist inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Tastes fine, but if you're looking for a shortcut to filling your cupcakes, this doesn't turn out quite right. What you get is more of a chocolate cupcake with a 'different coloured' centre, with the centre still being a chewy cakey cheese thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
OK, I haven't read all 330+ reviews to see if anyone else tried this, but I'll tell you what I did. I filled a pastry bag with the filling and, and used a very large round hole (Ateco #807) pastry tip so that the mini chips would come through. I filled the cupcake liners with the chocolate cake batter to make sure I ended up with 24 (and I actually could have gotten a couple more, so I tried to divide up the rest to even it out over all). Then I injected the filling into the cupcakes. As the filling is injected, you can see the batter rise to the level that you want to have when you put them in to bake. Had I not had a little spillage into the kitchen sink before I finished injecting the cupcakes, I would have had precisely enough for all 24 cupcakes. Now, when you do this, you will still see some of the white filling on top of the cupcake, but not to worry. If you're icing them, no one will be looking for that there. Hope this helps someone. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmartcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Delicious, not too sweet or too chocolaty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joann

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
These cupcakes were really good. I did use about a tablespoon of the filling and still had a little leftover. When I make them again I will not add the chocolate chips. They stayed a little too hard and I did not think they added anything special to the cupcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doralys
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Totally loved this recipe! The final texture of the product was amazing! I made a few changes though: (1)Instead of cake mix, I made the cupcakes from scratch using a recipe I found in this website (CREAMY CHOCOLATE CUPCAKES). I added 1 regular tbsp of batter+ 1 tbsp of filling + 1tbsp and 1tsp of batter. Baked for 20min, and they where perfect..28 perfect cupckaes. I frosted them with another recipe from this website (Basic Cream Cheese frosting). They are delicious! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doralys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Caracas, Distrito Federal, Venezuela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
good spin on cupcakes. Frosted with cool whip. Kids loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

See how to make super-fun ice cream cone cupcakes!

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States