Seeduction Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT! So easy to make and tasty! I only tried the original recipe. Will be making this weekly :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Update: re. malted barley flour, do not use Bob's Red Mill malted barley flour (found on Amazon). It will make your loaf gooey. We tried it several different times. Now we just stick with regular barley flour until we can try a new brand of malted. We also follow mhowell's advice by lowering the molasses, increasing the honey, and increasing the seeds. Overall, incredible recipe. Truly the best bread we've ever had, either homemade or store bought. We now make it all the time, in our bread machine. Our girls ask for it continually. It's more preferred in our family than even the homemade French or Italian breads--and there's nothing like it we can buy anywhere. It's rich and nutty but also light and elastic, slightly sweet. We love it with honey butter or cinnamon butter or cream cheese. It's so filling, soothing, and satisfying, and we love that it's complete protein--excellent value for the cost. Also, it feels good in the tummy and will sooth a sour stomach, which we thought was amazing until we read that millet seed does just that (sooths the stomach). Great way to feel good in the morning and start the day. Thank you, thank you for this recipe. It's a staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I tried the original recipe and the modified recipe and I have to say that I like the original recipe best. My kids do, too.. We like the molasses flavor and the crust isn't bitter. I also like that there isn't an additional tablespoon of honey that the net total of the modified recipe has. So, be sure to try the original recipe---you may prefer it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I modified this slightly for a bread machine because I am lazy, and it is still our family's favourite bread recipe. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimbabxsarang
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This recipe is wonderful! I followed the mhowell modifications except without the malted barley flour or wheat gluten. I also replaces the molasses with brown sugar instead. The bread came out a little denser and more moist than the WF version, and also a little less buttery. Still, delicious! My family had it with cream cheese, strawberry jam, orange marmalade, or even plain, and everyone was delighted. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
An absolutely stupendous bread previously available only at Whole Foods, I tried a trial loaf using the recommended ingredient measurement modifications and substitution recommended by "mhowell" above, and found the loaf to be an exact duplicate of the W.F. Seeduction. Having now made multiple loaves, I'm pleased at how much "bread" I'm saving in making this for my family. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This bread is incredible. So worth the time and effort, which is minimal considering the end product. It is so full of flavor I actually prefer to eat it with nothing on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I made this using the original recipe above and it was ok, but didn't think it was close to the seeduction bread at whole foods, so I experimented to get closer. The final product was nearly exactly like whole foods. The ingredients are the same, but I changed the measurements and made one substitution. - 1 teaspoon of molasses NOT 2 tablespoons, the bread is way too dark with the original amount and made the crust a bit bitter. - Increase the honey to 4 tablespoons - Increase pumpkin, sunflower, and millet seeds to 4 tablespoons each - Increase the gluten to 2 tablespoons, this really firmed up the bread and made it less "cakey" - I also substituted the 3 tablespoons of malted barley flour with Bob's Red Mill 10 grain cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Barley flour can be purchased at Indian groceries ("Rav Flour").
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
My whole family loves this bread. I did make a few changes when I made it as I didn't have things like wheat gluten or millet seeds and I omitted the honey and put in malt extract along with barley flour. In the end, it turned out very moist and light, not quite as dense and sweet as the one from WF.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States