Secret Sauce Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
There are some errors in this recipe, I have contacted All Recipes but will put the correct measurements here until they can get around to getting it fixed. Everything else is the same just the amounts. 1 Bottle of Bernsteins Italian dressing 3 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce 1/3 Cup Soy Sauce 4 to 6 Tablespoons Brown Sugar 10 Cloves of Pressed Garlic 1 Teaspoon Dry Mustard 1 Teaspoon Ground Ginger This recipe is the best. Our family also uses this for steak. We tend to let it sit in the fridge for a few days turning it once a day to move around the seasonings. Keep a spray bottle near the grill because this flares up sometimes. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
Yum, yum, yum! This was THE BEST marinade! I marinated for a day and a half, but instead of grilled, I roasted the chicken in the oven..the skin came out nice a crispy with an amazing flavor! My husband even said this was the best chicken i've ever made, and I cook a lot! I can't say enough how wonderful this marinade is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blue-eyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Easy and tasty. I decreased the ingredients to marinate 1 lb of chicken thighs: 1/2 cup italian dressing, 1 tbsp worcestershire, 2 tbsp soy sauce, 2 tbsp brown sugar, 1 tbsp minced garlic and 1 tsp minced ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
This recipe was awesome! Such a simple marinade with ingrediants I always have on hand. I am not a fan of ginger, so I left it out and it still tasted great. I used boneless skinless chicken breasts...grilled 8 minutes on each side. They were so juicy and yummy! I ate mine with brown rice & corn on the cob. My husband ate later in the day, so his were cold over salad and he said they were delicious. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janneen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Good marinade! All the ingredients I keep on hand. I did 1/2 the recipe for 5 large chicken breasts and only needed about 1/2 bottle of dressing. Only had time to marinate for about 6 hrs but will try for overnight next time. Do be careful grilling because it does tend to burn in areas. Overall good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MImom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Linden, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Loved this! I halved this, used a Good Seasons Italian Dressing packet, added the ingredients called for here, then added the liquids called for plus a 1/2 cup water, then I drizzled in the oil (called for on the package) and mixed with an emmulsion blender to emulsify. After marinating, I boiled a cup of the marinade and basted with it. Be sure to grill over indirect heat, even then, the skin may blacken but the chicken will be tender and moist. Take off the grill, baste lightly one last time, cover with foil and let rest 10 minutes before serving. Oh so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Great marinade! I only had two hours to marinate the chicken, but it still turned out delicious. I do believe that this is our new favorite chicken marinade!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Best chicken marinade around. Sometimes I premix a batch, jar it and stick it in the fridge. Then I just pour some over a couple chicken breasts before leaving for work. Easy and flavorful chicken dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
This was really delish, i cut the recipe to 1/4 for a single meal. Perfect combination of flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I thought this was awesome. Used boneless skinless breasts and only had time to marinade for a couple hours, but it was very good. Don't think I used as much brown sugar as the recipe called for, and used a olive oil and vinegar dressing since I didn't have Italian. Perfect mixture of flavors and the chicken turned out remarkably flavorful and tender without any one ingredient being too overwhelming. I plan to make this for a birthday bbq coming up soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Barbecue Chicken

Discover a great technique for making perfect barbecue chicken.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States