Secret Midnight Moon Better than Chocolate Sex Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
Made this as a Special treat for my Upline (home party biz) since she was promoted. Made a trial one first and it was VERY moist but not chocolatly enough...added 1 TB more chocolate to the batter and I also let bake an extra 10 minutes (25 was not quite enough IMO)...the cake is REALLY made when you add the icing, that is the kicker to it all! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
first time making from scratch. added 1 extra Tablespoon cocoa powder to recipe & used Mocha expresso. Whiskey did give it a hint of flavor but didn't taste like alcohol. Fantastic! Served with whipped cream and raspberries over the top of the frosting. Will definately make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hancock, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
This was a huge hit at our picnic. I personally thought the whiskey gave it too much of a "taste" but everyone else absolutely loved it. I didn't read the reviews first and was skeptical about how liquid the batter was, but it baked up just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
omigod omigod omigod this cake is AMAZING. my valentine and i (on valentine's day) baked this cake (we are not avid bakers) and could not believe it actually came from our hands! it is soooo delicious... we added a little more sugar and flour before putting it in the baking pan because the batter was a little runny. you must make this cake (and next time we'll double the recipe. it was really that good!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
My Daughter and I made this cake for my birthday exactly as the recipe calls for. However we did not have self-rising flour so we used one teaspoon baking powder and one half teaspoon salt for each cup of flour and we also doubled the recipe. As rich as this cake is it still was not very sweet. The cake was more like a brownie texture but it was very dense and very moist. The flavor was just not that great. I think if I was to make this cake again I would omit the water and add more sugar and it would be sweeter and more like cake than brownie and I think it would still be moist as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSEMC91

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
The reviews were right on! The longer the frosting soaks in, the better. I refrigerated it overnight and the cake tasted fabulous! Everyone in my office raved about it. It was well worth all of my time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
I made this cake last Valentine's Day with hopes of pleasing my chocolaholic boyfriend and also pleasing my best friend's mom (her birthday is on the same day). But instead of doubling the recipe I multiplied it times 5 and had pans all over my kitchen. But the end result was worth it many times over. EVERYONE I GAVE A PAN TO SCRAPED EVERY CRUMB!!! I even got a call from someone's ex-boyfriend (I gave them one of the cakes) this Valentine's Day to ask if I can make the cake for him again this year!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
I made this cake for my dad's 50th Birthday. This was the first "from scratch" cake I ever made. I had to omit the alcohol because of my 5 year old sister but it was still pretty good. It wasn't quite as chocolatey as I would like but then again I've never thought something was too rich. The icing can be decieving because I thought it was terrible by itself. But with the cake it improves. I thought this recipe was ok. Very easy to make but not sweet enough for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2003
I was really scared b/c the batter was REALLY liquidy...so I added a little more flour, but I shouldn't have, the cake was excellent! It really tastes unique and is very moist. Just to reiterate: the best chocolate cake I've ever had, my favorite recipe on this site. Definitely try making this. Also, whoever said this cake was dense and rich did something very wrong, it's really pretty airy, but it still satisfies chocolate fixes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
this cake is a wonderful moist chocolate fix.The best chocolate cake I have had in my life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States