Secret Midnight Moon Better than Chocolate Sex Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
I just got done pouring the frosting on it and had to taste it warm. WOW!! It is awesome! I can't imagine how good it will taste if it gets better the longer it sits. Not sure it will last that long to ever find out!! Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Can_It_Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Delicious, deep and rich with a delightful hint of bourbon to satisfy a more sophisticated chocoholic palate. Reserve this one for an after 6 event.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This cake was OMG good!! But the 2nd time making it I used vanilla spice eggnog in place of buttermilk for the cake and frosting. Then the whiskey I used was blackberry whiskey. Let's just say it went from good to OMG what a night. Try it!!! Remember the key is to let it sit a long time, more like all night!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
Very good, rich and chocolatey. Keeps well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I added 80g of melted dark sweet chocolate to the frosting, it tasted better. My cake base tasted good,but I must have done something wrong because it wasn't fluffy enough to be a cake, haha!!! I have a cake recipe that is better, but I'm gonna try this again... I might get it right next time :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mizzfox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Definitely the most moist cake I've ever had! I didn't have buttermilk in, so I had to "create" my own (with about 1/2 tsp of lemon juice per 1/2 cup whole milk). It wasn't as rich as I expected, but certainly satisifies those chocolate cravings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairview, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Okay. This is really really good. When it was fresh and warm, it wasn't quite as good, but when it sat in the refrig overnight, it totally tasted amazing. It is really rich and dense. I did not have any burbon, so instead I used Starbucks Cream Liqour instead. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
The first one I maid I used Knob Creek, witch is a burben and I dont know if that maid it not to my liking (i do drink it) or if it's the batter, but the icing I LOVED! I'm gona remake it again and leave out the wiskey, if it's to my liking i'll experament more. I gave it 5 stars due to the cake was VERRY! moist witch i LOVE moist cakes and the fact that if i liked the tastes better it would have been perfect. Also fallow the recipe EXACTLY, i was hesitant about the batter being so thin. But since i red the one review i fallowed it exactly and to my serprise it was looking like a hard cake at 10min left, after 25min it was set up quicker than ANY other cake i've main, expecally for it being so thin at start. Love the idea of this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Michigantown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Don't know what happened. I followed the recipie exact and I cooked it 10 min. longer then suggested and it came out more like a undercooked brownie texture. I don't think it lived up to it's name. Taste was okay not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginny
Home Town: Southbridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
First time at baking and I'll say it wasn't bad. I'd used more espresso than was needed which gave it a taste many of my friend enjoyed. It was not as moist as I'd have liked, but I'm sure to make it again regardless. Even my mother who harassed me about not knowing what I was doing was impressed by this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States