Secret Midnight Moon Better than Chocolate Sex Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
This is my adult son's favorite cake. I make it exactly as written - and poke holes in the cake before adding the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
WOW this is one strong whiskey tasting cake, if you eat it the first day it is made. I made this as written, and knew the batter was going to be runny from the previous reviewers. But rest assured, it bakes up just fine as written. My family felt this cake was much better the longer it sat. Eating it on the day it was baked was not enjoyable as the whiskey flavor dominated every bite. The second day, it was soooo much better and the flavors blended nicely. It is a very moist cake and remains so even after day 3. We actually thought the cake was best on the third day. I frosted half the cake without nuts and used chopped walnuts on the other half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Easy and moist , I followed the recipe to the T (with the exception of NO ALCOHOL) and I have to say its just amazing!!! Didn't use the frosting though as we don't like things that are too sweet. Just powdered sugar on top and believe me this is the dessert for all chocolate lovers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elli Mathers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Ha ha I think that it should say Better than sex chocolate cake ... but maybe Im wrong. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lava-chef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
I'm going to take my chances, Dawn M., and make this cake due to everyone else's comments. I must say, however, that I've never heard of a "Sex Cake" - chocolate or otherwise!! Possibly it's supposed to be "...Better than Sex Chocolate Cake"?! That I cannot imagine...but I'll give it a try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westborough, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
After all the great reviews this recipe received, I was very excited to make it for a friend's birthday. Unfortunately I was very disappointed by the results. It was not sweet enoough or chocolatey enough for our tastes. It really tasted kind of bland to me, and the presentation needs a lot of work as well, because it doesn't look very appetizing straight out of the pan. I did let it set overnight as others had suggested. And this cake was a LOT of work for such a result. Sorry, but I cannot recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Angeles, Washington, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Not at all what I expected. Moist? Yes, but so moist the cake is completely unstable. You can't take the cake out of the pan without it turning to mud. Though the taste is alright this cake was too much effort for a very unprofessional result. Don't use this cake for formal events such as baby showers. Stick to super bowls and birthdays. Again, the taste was good though the sounds it made while being cut were a little nauseating. My brothers who love the cake have affectionately called it 'cram' after their favorite game Fallout 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mint-Tea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
A disappointment. After reading many of the reviews, I was excited to try this recipe. I made it according to the recipe, and a day in advance so it would have time to sit. I was a bit concerned about the strong whiskey aroma when I pulled it from the oven, but by the next day the aroma was gone. That was deceptive though. Although the aroma was gone, the cake still had a very strong whiskey flavor. Of the four people who tried the cake, only one liked it. The cake was moist ... loved that about it. Our saving grace was a batch of sugared raspberries I had in the refrigerator - a big spoonful over the top masked the whiskey flavor and made the cake taste pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Too floury tasting. It bakes pretty but lacks in taste. I won't use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Windsor, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I made this cake for my mother's Birthday and I did not like it at all. I followed the recipe and do lots of baking. But the cake just didn't turn out well. I wasn't crazy about the flavor or the texture and the frosting was not good. I would leave out the whiskey if I made it again, but I probably won't. The chocolate taste was similar to a dark bitter chocolate which I usually like in small amounts. Just not for a cake. I didn't serve it, instead made the "Chocolate Oil Cake" and it was perfect. More of a good milk chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States