Secret Midnight Moon Better than Chocolate Sex Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
This was a huge hit at our picnic. I personally thought the whiskey gave it too much of a "taste" but everyone else absolutely loved it. I didn't read the reviews first and was skeptical about how liquid the batter was, but it baked up just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
this cake is a wonderful moist chocolate fix.The best chocolate cake I have had in my life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2003
I was really scared b/c the batter was REALLY liquidy...so I added a little more flour, but I shouldn't have, the cake was excellent! It really tastes unique and is very moist. Just to reiterate: the best chocolate cake I've ever had, my favorite recipe on this site. Definitely try making this. Also, whoever said this cake was dense and rich did something very wrong, it's really pretty airy, but it still satisfies chocolate fixes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
I made this cake last Valentine's Day with hopes of pleasing my chocolaholic boyfriend and also pleasing my best friend's mom (her birthday is on the same day). But instead of doubling the recipe I multiplied it times 5 and had pans all over my kitchen. But the end result was worth it many times over. EVERYONE I GAVE A PAN TO SCRAPED EVERY CRUMB!!! I even got a call from someone's ex-boyfriend (I gave them one of the cakes) this Valentine's Day to ask if I can make the cake for him again this year!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
omigod omigod omigod this cake is AMAZING. my valentine and i (on valentine's day) baked this cake (we are not avid bakers) and could not believe it actually came from our hands! it is soooo delicious... we added a little more sugar and flour before putting it in the baking pan because the batter was a little runny. you must make this cake (and next time we'll double the recipe. it was really that good!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
first time making from scratch. added 1 extra Tablespoon cocoa powder to recipe & used Mocha expresso. Whiskey did give it a hint of flavor but didn't taste like alcohol. Fantastic! Served with whipped cream and raspberries over the top of the frosting. Will definately make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hancock, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
Made this as a Special treat for my Upline (home party biz) since she was promoted. Made a trial one first and it was VERY moist but not chocolatly enough...added 1 TB more chocolate to the batter and I also let bake an extra 10 minutes (25 was not quite enough IMO)...the cake is REALLY made when you add the icing, that is the kicker to it all! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
The first one I maid I used Knob Creek, witch is a burben and I dont know if that maid it not to my liking (i do drink it) or if it's the batter, but the icing I LOVED! I'm gona remake it again and leave out the wiskey, if it's to my liking i'll experament more. I gave it 5 stars due to the cake was VERRY! moist witch i LOVE moist cakes and the fact that if i liked the tastes better it would have been perfect. Also fallow the recipe EXACTLY, i was hesitant about the batter being so thin. But since i red the one review i fallowed it exactly and to my serprise it was looking like a hard cake at 10min left, after 25min it was set up quicker than ANY other cake i've main, expecally for it being so thin at start. Love the idea of this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Michigantown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Okay. This is really really good. When it was fresh and warm, it wasn't quite as good, but when it sat in the refrig overnight, it totally tasted amazing. It is really rich and dense. I did not have any burbon, so instead I used Starbucks Cream Liqour instead. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Delicious, deep and rich with a delightful hint of bourbon to satisfy a more sophisticated chocoholic palate. Reserve this one for an after 6 event.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States