Secret Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I love this cake! Baked for 40 minutes, per reviews suggestions. Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
This cake can be very yummy, but IMHO, I think it needs a teaspoon of cinnamon in it to give the chocolate the zip it needs. I have made this cake for years. The one time I forgot the cinnamon, it just didn't taste right to me and was not popular with the people eating it. Afterward I sprinkled a little cinnamon on the top and, yep, it was fixed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
This is your basic "Texas" sheet cake and overall I think most people would really like. It is usually a hit at office parties or church potlucks. I think the sweetness of the cake is a nice balance to the icing since it is very sweet. For my family we didn't like the texture of the icing. Although the flavor was good, it has a really gritty texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I made this cake for my son-in-laws birthday and followed the tip to bake it for 40 minutes....thirty ninutes in it fell. I think it was because I baked it in a disposible pan so they could take the extra home. We still ate it and the flavor was awesome. So I tried it again tonight in a real pan. I added an extra egg and beat the eggs prior to adding them to the batter. It turned out great! I will try to post a picture in the next few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert P.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
We really, really didn't like this cake. It was not nearly chocolaty enough and the frosting was sickeningly sweet despite the fact that I reduced the amount of sugar in the frosting (the only change I made to the recipe). Secret Cake is a secret best kept -- I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
this cake was so good i made it for my dads birthday and everyone was asking the recipe for it and i told them that it was a secret cakes because that is what it was called so i just told the name and what website to find the cake on. i love all people who read my reviews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This is the easiest and the best chocolate cake ever!!!! I found this recipe I guess about a month ago and I have already made it 3 times. The only problem I have with it is it barely last one whole day. Thank you for a great recipe, oh and yes it needs to bake 40 min at 350, nothing else needs to be done to it. its perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
I did bake the cake longer, too. It was interesting that the cake seemed to change by the hour. My family loved it! I also froze some and it thawed beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
it really has to cook at least 10/15 min. more than stated; it sure tastes good and it's very easy. Too sweet for my taste, and not chocholatey as I expected (that's why a basically quick and good enough cake gets 4 stars from me...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2001
If you bake this cake for 25 minutes, it will fall, should be baked for around 40 minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States