Secret Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I love this cake! Baked for 40 minutes, per reviews suggestions. Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
This cake can be very yummy, but IMHO, I think it needs a teaspoon of cinnamon in it to give the chocolate the zip it needs. I have made this cake for years. The one time I forgot the cinnamon, it just didn't taste right to me and was not popular with the people eating it. Afterward I sprinkled a little cinnamon on the top and, yep, it was fixed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
This is your basic "Texas" sheet cake and overall I think most people would really like. It is usually a hit at office parties or church potlucks. I think the sweetness of the cake is a nice balance to the icing since it is very sweet. For my family we didn't like the texture of the icing. Although the flavor was good, it has a really gritty texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I made this cake for my son-in-laws birthday and followed the tip to bake it for 40 minutes....thirty ninutes in it fell. I think it was because I baked it in a disposible pan so they could take the extra home. We still ate it and the flavor was awesome. So I tried it again tonight in a real pan. I added an extra egg and beat the eggs prior to adding them to the batter. It turned out great! I will try to post a picture in the next few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert P.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
We really, really didn't like this cake. It was not nearly chocolaty enough and the frosting was sickeningly sweet despite the fact that I reduced the amount of sugar in the frosting (the only change I made to the recipe). Secret Cake is a secret best kept -- I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
this cake was so good i made it for my dads birthday and everyone was asking the recipe for it and i told them that it was a secret cakes because that is what it was called so i just told the name and what website to find the cake on. i love all people who read my reviews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This is the easiest and the best chocolate cake ever!!!! I found this recipe I guess about a month ago and I have already made it 3 times. The only problem I have with it is it barely last one whole day. Thank you for a great recipe, oh and yes it needs to bake 40 min at 350, nothing else needs to be done to it. its perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
I did bake the cake longer, too. It was interesting that the cake seemed to change by the hour. My family loved it! I also froze some and it thawed beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
it really has to cook at least 10/15 min. more than stated; it sure tastes good and it's very easy. Too sweet for my taste, and not chocholatey as I expected (that's why a basically quick and good enough cake gets 4 stars from me...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2001
If you bake this cake for 25 minutes, it will fall, should be baked for around 40 minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States