Seattle Fire Station 25 Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Kid tested and family approved. I have the pickiest eaters in my family and everyone likes something different. This was a hit with everyone! I used almonds instead of pistachios because it was what I had on hand and it turned out fine. I also chopped the spinach and olives finely so I could hid them from the kids. Great flavor and was easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Adams Wynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I haven't tried this yet, but it really looks delicious so it will be the next meat loaf I make. I saw many comments about how big it was and scaling it down, etc. Thought I'd mention that when I make my meatloaf, although I don't usually use 11 pounds of meat, I do mix up a hearty amount and I bake a portion that is good for dinner and an extra few sandwiches, then I put the rest, proportionately, into ziplock freezer bags and freeze them. It makes an easy meal later. You just have to thaw it in the fridge and put it into a loaf pan to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Field

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
This was a decent meatloaf, but nothing I'd make again. I followed the recipe almost exactly, with the exception of cutting the servings to 8 and not using the meatloaf seasoning packet but, instead, using onion powder, garlic salt, garlic powder, salt, pepper, paprika, celery salt and a dash of cayenne red pepper. Which were the ingredients listed on the meatloaf seasoning packet I saw at the store. I used about 1 tsp of each for the half sized recipe I used. I also left out the pistachios due to a nut allergy in the family. I thought the pepper jack cheese was an awesome addition, and I enjoyed the black olives, but the spinach seemed odd to me. Again, the flavor was fine, just nothing exciting. I've had better meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This is a delicious recipe! Even with the pistachios, which I will say, I was very skeptical. We are not meatloaf eaters. Honestly, can't remember when I made one, before this recipe. Everyone loved it and has requested it many times since. The only thing I did differently was not use "meatloaf seasoning." I looked to see what spices were in it and added them individually, so as not to have the preservatives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This recipe is amazing. I left out the spinich, olives and nuts to keep the household happy. It was amazing. I did a layer of shredded pepperjack in the middle instead of the cubes which worked out really well. I cut the recipe in half and had enough to make two loafs and about 4 meatloaf burgers on the grill. It makes a TON of meat even when cut in half! Can't wait to make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Loved the meatloaf left out the olives and pistachios not a fan but otherwise loved it, making again for a family get together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Great recipe. Cut it in half and still had 2 good sized meatloafs. Thought it might be interesting to try this is 2 types of pans - the standard 13X9X2 baking dish worked fine. We'll see how the bread pan works ;) I did make a few changes (I know this annoys people - oh well). I didn't have pepper jack, so used blue cheese and it was fantastic. Also substituted cocktail sauce for 50% of the ketchup (would have used horseradish if I had it). I loved the little extra kick. I also forgot to buy "meatloaf seasoning" so had to look up what was in it - just as easy to list out the raw ingredients. Fantastic meatloaf - possibly best I have ever had. Addition of pistachios is great idea. Was a little afraid of the olives (I hate olives), but out of respect for the recipe I kept them in (although I did purée the olives).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Put a fire hose on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montesano, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I cut down this recipe significantly to feed two people for dinner and to have left overs for dinner the next day. We both thought this was a tasty meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Well, I did not put in the spinach, black olives or pistachios - my family wouldn't go for that in meatloaf! However, with bacon and jack cheese, I don't think this meatloaf CAN go wrong! I did add some garlic powder, worchestershire sauce, and 1/2 can of Hunt's meatloaf tomato sauce (and put the other half on top of the meatloaf).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCabes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Glazed Meatloaf II

The yummy glaze makes this meatloaf moist and delicious.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States