Seasoned Tortilla Chip Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I took a cooking class (I took it at summer camp) and we made this. It was super delicious and we all couldn't stop eating it. I don't know if there is a difference between hot sauce and chili sauce, but we used chili. I highly recommend it, even though I abhor cheese and dislike sour cream and cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I made this for Faceless Frenzy July 2012 - the first review of this was in 2004. As written this is really bland but has so much potential. The cream cheese / sour cream layer needs a lot more hot sauce. I used Tapatilo and didn't really measure but I think it would be about 2 tsps. Dice the lettuce really small. Instead of just tomatoes and onions, use a spicy Pico de Gallo - fresh salsa. There wasn't a scrap left on the plate and that is a good sign.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Everyone loves this dip!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aWe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I changed this recipe a lot..didn't realize I had no cumin so I used a little season salt. Didn't use the lettuce, tomato, or onion. Didn't use as much cheese (the cheese flavor would have overpowered everything) and I mixed everything together. I'm sure if I would have put all the ingredients it may have needed all the cheese. Pretty good and VERY simple. yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
This is great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
It was a good dip, but it got pretty thick in the fridge. I definitely recommend heating it up prior to eating. Various spices can be added to achieve desired taste. I mixed it up in a food processor for good smoothness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
Hi...I just tried this recipe and it is pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
I thought this recipe was pretty good. I just omitted the "garnish" ingredients and put the dip in a chip and dip bowl. I sprinkled a bit of cheese and tomatoes on top, added a spoon for scooping and done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHANIEJO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2004
I did not like this recipe at all. I found it bland and not tasty enough to merit all the fat in it -- and I am not even someone who usually cares. I increased the amount of hot sauce about tenfold, and doubled or tripled the garlic and cumin, but to no avail. The texture of the mix was kind of chunky and I couldn't get them out no matter how hard I tried. Really, this was a platform for the tomato, onion and cheese. I omitted lettuce because I don't like it. I used red onion for flavour and colour, and added diced avocado chunks for colour and texture. (If you do this, beware, avocado turns brown in open air after a while.) It would be well to have small diced jalapeno as well. It turned out okay because I increased the topping portion, but I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Jalapeno Popper Spread

It tastes just like the jalapeno poppers you love!

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States