Seasoned Orzo and Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
maybe the previous reviewer didn't see the "drain" instruction. great tasting receipe, i'd make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
Made just like recipe and it was delicious! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
My family loved this! I used fake butter spray (counting calories). I also used Goya Adobo seasoning instead of the called for seasoning. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
This is one of my favorite dishes. I have found that bow-tie pasta works as a good substitute for the orzo as it holds the ingredients together better and makes the dish a little more substantial as a main dish rather than a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Oh my goodness this was good!! I made this for lunch being a crunch with the kids whining at me and I was out of everything I could think of off the top of my head... I was really surprised by the mild good flavor and the way the veggies complimented so well. The beans added a very nice gentle salt flavor, I'm glad I didn't add any extra dsalt like I was considering- and i DID rinse my beans. I can see trying this with all sorts of different veggie mixes and bean mixes... Go crazy with it! Tyu topping it with just a tad of fresh grated parmesean or asiago. Yummy! P.S. I made this with one box of orzo and it made a whole pot of stuff. We will have a lot of leftovers- this could have easily fed a larger family of 8 or more. We had six people eating and I have enough that we could all eat again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
This was great! I altered it slightly: I added a small can of mushrooms (drained). Since I didn't a bag of frozen mixed veggies, I used a small bag of frozen peas. I didn't have tarragon, so I added some basil, onion salt and pepper. Very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
I really enjoyed this dish, especially because it is very healthy and very easy. (I reduced the butter to 1 TBS to lower the fat content. I also didn't cook the orzo for as long because I was afraid it would get too mushy.) Evidently the previous reviewer forgot to DRAIN the orzo and vegetables before adding the other ingredients, and that's why it didn't turn out good. My 2 year old daughter even liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
A nice alternative to beans and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
This is good for a different-tasting side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States