Seasoned Orzo and Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
This is one of my favorite dishes. I have found that bow-tie pasta works as a good substitute for the orzo as it holds the ingredients together better and makes the dish a little more substantial as a main dish rather than a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
This was great! I altered it slightly: I added a small can of mushrooms (drained). Since I didn't a bag of frozen mixed veggies, I used a small bag of frozen peas. I didn't have tarragon, so I added some basil, onion salt and pepper. Very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
I did not care for this dish at all despite being a fan of black beans, orzo and veggies. The seasoning was off - no depth of flavour and the dish was dry and lifeless. Not a favorite for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
I really didn't like this. It may have been better with fresh vegetables, but I won't be trying it again to find out. The flavors were quite bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine Childs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
To me this was sort of bland, but the rest of the family thought it was good. We had it as a main course, but it is certainly more of a side dish. Also, I think I just have an aversion to frozen vegetables. Perhaps I would have liked it better if I had used fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
I really enjoyed this dish, especially because it is very healthy and very easy. (I reduced the butter to 1 TBS to lower the fat content. I also didn't cook the orzo for as long because I was afraid it would get too mushy.) Evidently the previous reviewer forgot to DRAIN the orzo and vegetables before adding the other ingredients, and that's why it didn't turn out good. My 2 year old daughter even liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I agree, this was a little bland. I added some chili garlic paste and Parmesan and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Villa Hills, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
I liked this recipe, but it was not one of my favorites. As a whole this was a little dry. I also did not used the seasonings that this called for, I used cajun seasoning and a little cumin. I might make this again and try it with just the orzo, beans and maybe some corn. Thanks for the ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
My family loved this! I used fake butter spray (counting calories). I also used Goya Adobo seasoning instead of the called for seasoning. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
maybe the previous reviewer didn't see the "drain" instruction. great tasting receipe, i'd make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States