Seasoned Orzo and Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
This recipe did not work for us. It was incredibly bland, even though I boiled the noodles in chicken broth, added rotisserie chicken, parmesan cheese, garlic pepper. Nothing seemed to help it taste good. I did top it with some salsa verde and that helped a bit. But this will not be a repeat. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Oh my goodness this was good!! I made this for lunch being a crunch with the kids whining at me and I was out of everything I could think of off the top of my head... I was really surprised by the mild good flavor and the way the veggies complimented so well. The beans added a very nice gentle salt flavor, I'm glad I didn't add any extra dsalt like I was considering- and i DID rinse my beans. I can see trying this with all sorts of different veggie mixes and bean mixes... Go crazy with it! Tyu topping it with just a tad of fresh grated parmesean or asiago. Yummy! P.S. I made this with one box of orzo and it made a whole pot of stuff. We will have a lot of leftovers- this could have easily fed a larger family of 8 or more. We had six people eating and I have enough that we could all eat again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Tastes fairly bland when made as directed. I saved it 'til the next day, added vegetable broth, additional water, 1 can of diced tomatoes, and bay leaves, then reheated - it made a reasonably good vegetable/pasta soup this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I agree, this was a little bland. I added some chili garlic paste and Parmesan and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Villa Hills, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
I liked this recipe, but it was not one of my favorites. As a whole this was a little dry. I also did not used the seasonings that this called for, I used cajun seasoning and a little cumin. I might make this again and try it with just the orzo, beans and maybe some corn. Thanks for the ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
I did not care for this dish at all despite being a fan of black beans, orzo and veggies. The seasoning was off - no depth of flavour and the dish was dry and lifeless. Not a favorite for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
My family loved this! I used fake butter spray (counting calories). I also used Goya Adobo seasoning instead of the called for seasoning. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
I really didn't like this. It may have been better with fresh vegetables, but I won't be trying it again to find out. The flavors were quite bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
To me this was sort of bland, but the rest of the family thought it was good. We had it as a main course, but it is certainly more of a side dish. Also, I think I just have an aversion to frozen vegetables. Perhaps I would have liked it better if I had used fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States