Seasoned Cottage Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Very good! Lovely with carrots :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I used "Trim" cottage cheese, one packet of Truvia instead of using sugar and I omitted the MSG. I did not use this as a dip, I "piled" a few tablespoons each on two white cheddar rice cakes. I liked the caraway seeds, chives and celery salt combination. I'd make this again but omit the sweetener next time and add in fresh ground pepper. NOTE: If you throw the ingredients into a food processor or blender, you CAN make a dip out of it. Just puree until smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I was looking for something different and low fat as a "dip" for veggies as light snack and came across this. I cut way back on the servings and just "eyeballed" the ingredients leaving out the MSG. Overall this was quite tasty with cut up celery, carrots, and red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Yes, cottage cheese is lumpy. So if "lumps of cottage cheese in a dip for veggies" is such a turn off to you because it was "lumpy and it didn't work" then why would you even prepare this dish? It was served at the Alpine Village Inn in Las Vegas for many years and was a very popular appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
I left out the MSG, of course (yuck) and was still disappointed with the taste. I think it was the mix of sugar and caraway seeds. Just not good for my purposes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
The cottage cheese texture is fine, but the taste is a little lack-luster. It tastes good, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
The Alpine Village Inn was a favorite restaurant to locals in Las Vegas. It closed now.This spread was served as an appetizer with crackers and assorted breads. I remember gingerbread being in the collection. The spread is light and tasty. I have been looking for the recipe for years and am happy to have finally found it. If you don't like the lumps you could always whir it up in a food processor. I don't mind the lumps. It would be good on a baked potato in place of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by POLARBEE
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
If anyone ever went to the Alpine Village Inn in Las Vegas years ago before they closed, this is the dip they served before the meal. No, it's not your normal sour cream/mayo based dip, but it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
LUMPS of cottage cheese in a dip for veggies? Didn't work! Then tried blending it to make it a smoother dip, but the taste still didn't complement the vegetables. Also, the spices were completely overwhelmed by the caraway seeds; not a "delicate flavor" at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Fig Brulee with Burrata Cheese

See how to make a quick and easy “burnt” fig appetizer.

Pine Cone Cheese Ball

See how to make a holiday cheese ball that looks like a pine cone.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States