Seasoned Cornish Hens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
A nice alternative to fixing cornish hens. Family enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
very very good. reminds me of a quail dish at an area restaurant. Loved it and and the only slight thing I changd was to add a little balsamic vinegar and some herbs. So glad you shared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
It was okay for simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This is an excellent marinade! I deviated from the original a good deal, mainly because I was using it as a marinade for the grouse my dad and I shot on a hunting trip. It was absolutely the best grouse we've ever had, hands down! Now every time he comes home with grouse he asks me to make it this way again. Here's what I did: First, I didn't have oyster sauce so I used Worcestershire sauce instead, and it was delicious. Then I melted the butter in the microwave and added it to the marinade. Then I put it in a gallon ziplock with the grouse (split and opened flat) and let it marinade for at least 30 minutes. After it's done marinading, I seared it in a covered nonstick skillet, uncovering to baste with the remainder of the marinade frequently. Game meat can often be dry, but this marinade combined with the frequent basting made it juicy and so flavorful! I don't think I'll make grouse any other way again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmmhmmmgood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
So easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This recipe is excellent. I had never made Cornish hens before, and I'm so glad I made them this way. I basted every 5 minutes after uncovering the pan and they were super juicy and flavorful. I used low sodium soy sauce and they were plenty salty. I did need to cook them an extra 10 minutes, but just use an instant thermometer (cook to at least 165 F) and you are sure to get some wonderful results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Good flavor, but not enough cooking time. I had small hens and they were not at all done after the allotted time. Plan on having to cook them much longer and you'll be okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Great recipe! I will definately use this recipe again in the future. I used a young chicken instead of the cornish hen. I also added hoisin sauce to the marinade too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hazel Crest, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Great Recipe! i used garlic powder didn't have any cloves, otherwise followed the recipe to the T. I would recommend not skipping the oyster sauce it pairs really well with the soy sauce. Basted it quite a bit, meat turned out nice and juicy and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
These turned out really good. I cut them in half and baked them until done then removed the tin foil and broiled till golden brown. The rosemary gave them a wonderful flavor and the chicken salad made with the leftovers was great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States