Seasoned Cornish Hens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2003
Fabulous flavor! Just the right amount of spice. I didn't have oyster sauce, and wasn't in the mood to make a trip for it, so I just omitted it, and it was still excellent. I'm sure it would be even more excellent with all the ingredients. Served with lemon herb rice and green beans--dinner for two for under 5 bucks. Can't beat that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4NonBlondes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
I used small cornish hens, and it didn't quite finish cooking in time. I can't imagine a large cornish hen being done at this temperature in only an hour. That is my only criticism. Otherwise, these make a beautiful presentation, deep warm brown and delicious. The oyster sauce makes the sauce nice and thick and brushable. Possibly, though, these would be done in an hour without opening the oven to baste (I am a frequent baster)... I recommend this recipe, just watch for doneness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gartland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2004
So easy, and so good! I work nights, so the crockpot is my best friend. My family has a nice hot meal for dinner even when I'm not there...and this is so easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roxbury Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Oops, wasn't paying attention and used Hoisin Sauce-- but it was fantastic! I marinated for about an hour in a big ziplock bag so the color was wonderful before even cooking. Used 4 hens. I added 30 min. to the cooking but ended up cooking 1-1/2 hours at 350°. TIP: if you bake 4 at once, rotate the whole birds half-way through cooking so both sides are exposed to the same amount of heat. Setting side-by-side the 'inside' halves were underdone, outside halves were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hilliard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gallipolis, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
The marinade for this dish was awesome! Hens were moist and very tasty, although, I think I will try the marinade on boneless chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2002
Very easy! Very good. You will be surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
12/2007 original review The flavor was good, but it took about an additional 45 min to thoroughly cook the hens. By the time it was done, I felt like I could have ran to the store and bought something in place of this. Not sure if I would do again, due to the length of time to cook. ***11/28/2008 UPDATE*** So I redid this for thanksgiving, ensuring that I followed the recipe and cooked it longer. The results were AWESOME!!!! My family could not stop raving about this and requesting this. This time, I halved each hen, and then soaked the hens overnight in a ziploc to marinate it. The next day I just threw it in the oven for like 1 hour 45 min. Let me tell you, these hens were finger licking good..Awesome flavor, taste, texture..Loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neicy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2003
This turned out okay. I thought it would have more flavor. It also took 10 extra minutes to cook. Probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
This was excellent.My husband who thinks that you only cook cornish hens on the grill was blown away.I wil make this again and again,Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
Mmm, so tastey to be this simple to make! Will definitely use this recipe again, especially when I'm short on time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Cranberry Stuffed Game Hens

See how to make game hens stuffed with a simple cranberry and bread stuffing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States