Seasoned Cornish Hens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Good recipes with common Asian sauces. I also used hoison sauce & 5 spice Chinese seasoning to give alittle kick. I cooked this in the slow cooker & it came out tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WANSHAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Amazing marinade and so simple to make. The Oyster sauce adds a little sweetness and acts as a thickener. I've also subsituted Hoisin sauce for the oyster sauce with great results. And add 1/2 teaspoon Chinese Five Spice for amazing flavor. I cut the hens in half and marinate them in large ziploc bags for at least 2 hours or more. And grilling this imparts even better flavor. Great easy weeknight meal yet gorgeous enough for company. Love it. TIP - I think the oven temp. is way off. When the hens are cut in half, I bake them at 375 degrees for about 40 min. A whole hen takes me about 1 hour. But definitely cook this at higher heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Very, very tasty. I had a big jar of oyster sauce and was looking for recipes to use it on. I split the cornish hen down the middle with a cleaver and marinated it for about 8 hrs. Cooked it about 40 min. at 325 then grilled it for 15 min. Also put a glaze called cheriyaki on last 10 min. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Ukiah, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Delicious! Could not believe how moist the cornish hens were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Very simple with good flavor. I added paprika and olive oil and marinated over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walnut, California, USA
Living In: Pomona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This is a great basic easy Cornish Hen recipe. I make it exactly as printed and it was great. I did make it a second time and after the 30 min. in the oven I transfered the hens to the grill on low heat to finish them. Very good grilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weatherly, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I put it in the marinade for about 6 hours and needed to cook it about 30 minutes longer than the recipe states. Flavor is good, just not strong enough. Maybe if you marinade overnight it would give all of the meat the flavor instead of just the outside edge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
12/2007 original review The flavor was good, but it took about an additional 45 min to thoroughly cook the hens. By the time it was done, I felt like I could have ran to the store and bought something in place of this. Not sure if I would do again, due to the length of time to cook. ***11/28/2008 UPDATE*** So I redid this for thanksgiving, ensuring that I followed the recipe and cooked it longer. The results were AWESOME!!!! My family could not stop raving about this and requesting this. This time, I halved each hen, and then soaked the hens overnight in a ziploc to marinate it. The next day I just threw it in the oven for like 1 hour 45 min. Let me tell you, these hens were finger licking good..Awesome flavor, taste, texture..Loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neicy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
This is the first time I baked hens and it turned out great! My friends loved this dish. When I was mixing the marinade I added about a tablespoon of sugar as well as about a table spoon of honey. During the last 15 minutes of bake time I coated the hens with honey and it gave it a nice glazed taste to the first bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
Very good except took forever to cook to 180 degrees. My hens were in the oven for over an hour and a half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SBOEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pewaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Cranberry Stuffed Game Hens

See how to make game hens stuffed with a simple cranberry and bread stuffing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States