Seasoned Cornish Hens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This recipe is excellent. I had never made Cornish hens before, and I'm so glad I made them this way. I basted every 5 minutes after uncovering the pan and they were super juicy and flavorful. I used low sodium soy sauce and they were plenty salty. I did need to cook them an extra 10 minutes, but just use an instant thermometer (cook to at least 165 F) and you are sure to get some wonderful results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Good flavor, but not enough cooking time. I had small hens and they were not at all done after the allotted time. Plan on having to cook them much longer and you'll be okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Great recipe! I will definately use this recipe again in the future. I used a young chicken instead of the cornish hen. I also added hoisin sauce to the marinade too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hazel Crest, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Great Recipe! i used garlic powder didn't have any cloves, otherwise followed the recipe to the T. I would recommend not skipping the oyster sauce it pairs really well with the soy sauce. Basted it quite a bit, meat turned out nice and juicy and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
These turned out really good. I cut them in half and baked them until done then removed the tin foil and broiled till golden brown. The rosemary gave them a wonderful flavor and the chicken salad made with the leftovers was great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I made these a while back. First time I ever made cornish hens. They turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This recipe has a great flavor, however, I must recommend increasing the cooking time and/or the cooking temperature. I made these according to the recipe and they took positively forever to get done, all the while making the breast very dry. I'm sure the problems can be fixed the next time with little alteration, and the recipe was delicious, minus the previously mentioned flaws.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
It was OK. I skipped the butter and added a little sesame oil and sorghum honey. It also took an additional 30 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathaleya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
For someone that can screw up anything, this was the best! My husband loved it and ate it all! Wow!!!!! I can not wait to make it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
very good and quick. cooked for 70 minutes uncovered and just right for us. thank you. 4 1/2 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Harvey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Cranberry Stuffed Game Hens

See how to make game hens stuffed with a simple cranberry and bread stuffing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States