Seasoned Cornish Hens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Very simple with good flavor. I added paprika and olive oil and marinated over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walnut, California, USA
Living In: Pomona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This is a great basic easy Cornish Hen recipe. I make it exactly as printed and it was great. I did make it a second time and after the 30 min. in the oven I transfered the hens to the grill on low heat to finish them. Very good grilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weatherly, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I put it in the marinade for about 6 hours and needed to cook it about 30 minutes longer than the recipe states. Flavor is good, just not strong enough. Maybe if you marinade overnight it would give all of the meat the flavor instead of just the outside edge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
12/2007 original review The flavor was good, but it took about an additional 45 min to thoroughly cook the hens. By the time it was done, I felt like I could have ran to the store and bought something in place of this. Not sure if I would do again, due to the length of time to cook. ***11/28/2008 UPDATE*** So I redid this for thanksgiving, ensuring that I followed the recipe and cooked it longer. The results were AWESOME!!!! My family could not stop raving about this and requesting this. This time, I halved each hen, and then soaked the hens overnight in a ziploc to marinate it. The next day I just threw it in the oven for like 1 hour 45 min. Let me tell you, these hens were finger licking good..Awesome flavor, taste, texture..Loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neicy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
This is the first time I baked hens and it turned out great! My friends loved this dish. When I was mixing the marinade I added about a tablespoon of sugar as well as about a table spoon of honey. During the last 15 minutes of bake time I coated the hens with honey and it gave it a nice glazed taste to the first bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
Very good except took forever to cook to 180 degrees. My hens were in the oven for over an hour and a half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SBOEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pewaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Maybe i made it wrong but there was no flavor in this at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cortney
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
Very Verv good!!!!! I used my injector to infused some of the mixture into the birds, also I grilled them over wood coals, using indirect heat to a temp of 180 degrees, very moist and tender birds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudette P Henry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
This is a good recipe. I added 2 tsp of sugar to sweeten it up a bit and cooked them whole @ 350 for 60 minutes covered and another 15-20 uncovered. Please note I was basting the cxns for the last 15-20 minutes. The sauce is good over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
This is delicious, but everyone is right about the cooking time. I cut my hens in half and they still weren't done after the hour. You definitely need to cook this longer. Mine I put in for an addition 10 minutes and that was good enough. The marinade is spot on though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Cranberry Stuffed Game Hens

See how to make game hens stuffed with a simple cranberry and bread stuffing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States