Seasoned Cornish Hens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
this was my first time making cornish hen and it came out really good. i poked holes into the hens and marinated it for a couple of hours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This recipe is very good. I made the recipe exactly except that I added about a tsp of Paprika to the marinade. I also split the chickens in half and marinaded them for about 4-5 hrs. The chickens came out very tasty! I will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by johnthemain
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Came out good, only a little too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johnthemain

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
Excellent recipe. Good flavor and great presentation. Hens were moist and tender; however, the time they have listed is incorrect, I ended up cooking mine about an extra 20-30 minutes and if I hadn't they would have bled red! I served with fresh green beans, wild rice, and a packet of summer vegetables. Great dish for a Sunday Dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
This was a pretty good recipe - liked by the entire family. I LOVED how the cornish hens browned...they looked beautiful - 5star restaurant-quality presentation. I didn't especially like the oyster sauce flavor, but the hens were very moist. I took the advice of many commenters and added Chinese 5spice, olive oil; cut the hens in half before cooking; marinated them 3 hours in ziploc bags in the fridge. Cooked this with the following menu: Zucchini & Tomato Bowtie Pasta, Seafood Quiche...and Watermelon. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Pretty good recipe. Very easy to make, and yummy results. My whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Good recipes with common Asian sauces. I also used hoison sauce & 5 spice Chinese seasoning to give alittle kick. I cooked this in the slow cooker & it came out tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WANSHAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Amazing marinade and so simple to make. The Oyster sauce adds a little sweetness and acts as a thickener. I've also subsituted Hoisin sauce for the oyster sauce with great results. And add 1/2 teaspoon Chinese Five Spice for amazing flavor. I cut the hens in half and marinate them in large ziploc bags for at least 2 hours or more. And grilling this imparts even better flavor. Great easy weeknight meal yet gorgeous enough for company. Love it. TIP - I think the oven temp. is way off. When the hens are cut in half, I bake them at 375 degrees for about 40 min. A whole hen takes me about 1 hour. But definitely cook this at higher heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Very, very tasty. I had a big jar of oyster sauce and was looking for recipes to use it on. I split the cornish hen down the middle with a cleaver and marinated it for about 8 hrs. Cooked it about 40 min. at 325 then grilled it for 15 min. Also put a glaze called cheriyaki on last 10 min. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Ukiah, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Delicious! Could not believe how moist the cornish hens were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States