Seasoned Cornish Hens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
tasty but you forgot to say when to add the 2nd half of the butter, I cooked 1 more cornish hen than th recipe said and it took at least 45 min more to cook. Maybe I basted it too frequently? And I know it's not your fault but my thighs said 170-75 so I thought it was done but as I bit into the drumstick, it was completely raw in the middle. I guess trussing the hens would've been a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Such a flavorful recipe! My boyfriend absolutely loved this chicken recipe. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
wow this was easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Had pretty high hopes for this, but was sadly disappointed. Tastes just like chicken with soy sauce. Pretty salty, so perhaps using the reduced sodium style would work better. The soy and oyster sauce are both salt elements, so I'd probably add some brown sugar or honey for some sweetness. I cut the hens in half (as seen in the picture, but not in the recipe) for more consistent cooking. Hubs ate two halves, which is the reason for the four stars. If I were going on my review alone, it'd be three. Garnished with green onions and served with rice and Garlic Vegetable Saute (recipe to be published).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Easy to make and the cornish hens were tender and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This such a great recipe. It's easy and delicious. The cornish hens are just so moist---worth the try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
This was a very easy recipe and very delicious! I used nonfat "butter" spray instead of the butter - still browned beautifully! I would definately make this again with other cuts of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KHall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
Pretty good - I substituted Hoisin Sauce for Oyster since that's all I had on hand. I also upped the garlic to 4 cloves and marinaded the cut up hens overnight. It was way too hot to turn on the oven so I grilled these over medium indirect heat for about 30 minutes. The hens were very moist and had a nice mild flavor to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
This was soooo easy! I used "lite" soy sauce instead of the regular because I was concerned about to much sodium...I added paprika once I took the foil off to help with the browning...this was a hit at my house and so totally easy! Thanks for sharing.. I will be using this again and again :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
Easy to make and very delicious! A household favorite for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Cranberry Stuffed Game Hens

See how to make game hens stuffed with a simple cranberry and bread stuffing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States