Seasoned Cornish Hens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I use this marinade but I cook chicken thighs in it. I'm a big fan of chicken thighs, and when you cook them in this marinade they are phenomenal. I can't tell you how many times I've made that for people and they ask me for the recipe. People love it. I just cook them for 1 hour at 350 degrees. This marinade is by far my favorite that I've found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Cornish hens came out very tasty and moist. I did not have the oyster sauce but I used Worcestershire sauce instead as another review did and still came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
This was a great recipe and the birds were tender and moist. Will be making this again. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat's

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
This was great; made it for Valentine's Day dinner with lobster tails and mashed potatoes. My family is Chinese and we use oyster sauce in pretty much everything so I already had it just sitting in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Absolutely loved this recipe. Next time I would double the marinade and reserve half of it for basting. We grilled this instead of baking it and absolutely loved the results! Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rgabel08

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Charleston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doug
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
great taste and presentation is fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Bradford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Delicious! I agree with the other reviews and the cooking time is a little longer than expected. Recommend double checking the meat temperature (165 for poultry). Wasn't a problem though because it gave us more time to baste the outside for a fantastic finish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HP_imagines

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Oops, wasn't paying attention and used Hoisin Sauce-- but it was fantastic! I marinated for about an hour in a big ziplock bag so the color was wonderful before even cooking. Used 4 hens. I added 30 min. to the cooking but ended up cooking 1-1/2 hours at 350°. TIP: if you bake 4 at once, rotate the whole birds half-way through cooking so both sides are exposed to the same amount of heat. Setting side-by-side the 'inside' halves were underdone, outside halves were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hilliard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gallipolis, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
As with many other reviews, this needs more cooking time. Doubled everything and made 4 birds. Initially added 10 extra mins on 325 and 20 extra mins on 350 and basted only 3 times but that was not enough. Put the birds back in 350 for 30 more mins, perfectly tender and juicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Reminded us of the ducks in Chinatown...took us longer to cook since we basted quite often. Our 6 year old ate the whole hen, it was that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Cranberry Stuffed Game Hens

See how to make game hens stuffed with a simple cranberry and bread stuffing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States