Seasoned Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Hi Everyone- I am the author of this recipe. I wanted to edit the oil on the ingredients list due to the reviews but it wouldn't let me without paying a membership fee. So I wanted to clarify, I agree that 1/4 cup oil can be to much oil...I was guesstimating but also, I cook by taste. When I do this recipe I use a large pan and a lot of asparagus and because I want the breadcrumbs and cheese to stick, I cook on a low heat for a long time- 20 minutes-ish so I don't add the oil all at once but throughout the process of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StrongCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Really good, used less oil, didn't have the bread crumbs, just used parmesan and garlic powder and salt... very easy and very tasty - kind of came out like it was grilled. I only had a small bunch of asparagus so used only 1 T. of garlic powder and 2 T. of parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
If you dial back the oil slightly it comes out great. I've found that if you go heavy on the other seasonings the excess once you pull out the asparagus tastes excellent stirred into some white rice. Makes for a crunchy style white rice that's an excellent side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bringthepain123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
This was a really tasty way to have asparagus and I liked it a lot. I should have used my biggest pan though, I had some trouble turning the asparagus in my second-to-biggest one. I reduced the olive oil to only a couple tablespoons based on other reviews I read, but I think I should have left it as it was because I had some difficulty getting the breadcrumbs to stick. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
This stuff was horrible. It was a soggy, gloppy mess. I followed the directions exactly, and when it turned out so gross, I went back and reread the recipe to make sure I hadn't missed something, but no, I had done exactly what it said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
LOVE IT! We use Coconut oil or Grapeseed oil instead of olive oil, have never had a problem with too much. This is by far our favorite way to prepare asparagus, second is to grill it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Make sure to cut back on the oil, I just used a couple of tablespoons at the most. This was a great combination and I look forward to making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Delicious! My only suggestions are cut the oil back. I actually drained some in order to get the crumbs and cheese to brown without getting soggy and start with half the amount of garlic. I added both my grated cheese and the garlic powder to the bread crumbs and mixed it all together before add it all to the pan. Thanks, this is a great way to cook asparagus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook Asparagus

See tips for steaming or roasting spears of fresh asparagus.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States