Seashell Supper Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Nice, easy and quick. Quicker if you don't add water that you have to cook down--I didn't add any water, just didn't drain the can of tomatoes. I halved this recipe, used mini wheels (couldn't find shells in the house), added mushrooms, olives, and garlic, and was done in 20 minutes. Served with salad and garlic bread for a quick weeknight meal. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Made it again - even non-pasta-eating 23 year old daughter ate it. Everything is better with bacon :) 18yo son likes this - and it's filling. Bacon, onion, mushrooms - used spiced diced tomato with the liquid, spiced tomato sauce, add Italian seasoning, less water. Easy quick cheap meal with few ingredients. Serve with green salad and garlic bread and you're all set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Thank you for posting this recipe - I never would have put the combo of bacon and tomato sauce together on my own! This was a wonderful way to use up pasta, tomato sauce, and diced tomatoes that I had on hand in the pantry. I made a half recipe and wish I would have prepared the whole thing for leftovers! After reading comments I omitted the water from the recipe and added seasoning to our taste (Season All salt and Italian seasoning). It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
Good, in a pinch for something to make, however the flavor was just okay. I added some garlic and that seemed to help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This was ABSOLUTELY delicious! I used a can of Italian Style diced tomatos that was already spiced with garlic and basil. Then as an extra I topped it off with some Italian Style shredded cheese. This is totally a meal I will crave. Big hit with my husband too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
I needed something really quickly tonight, and this fit the bill. The only thing I did differently was to add some garlic powder, and Italian herb blend. I topped it with a little grated Parmesan, and served it with garlic bread. Absolutely delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
I'm giving this recipe 3 stars as written--good, but not great. I've also prepared this with 2 cups water and added a large can of baked beans. This changed the recipe substantially, but it was both healthier and more flavorful that way. I'd give it more like 4 stars with the beans, and will always add them in the future when preparing this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
I made the recipe as written except I used diced tomatoes with basil, garlic & oregano because I felt it was going to need some seasoning. Perhaps it was not meant to have an Italian taste. It was OK but not teriffic. But...when my kids were young they would have loved it. Maybe I'll try again without the seasoned tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
This is a very tasty, quick, and easy supper to make. I used turkey bacon, since we don't eat much red meat and I wanted to cut down on the fat. My husband really liked it, as he got to feel like he was splurging with all the bacon. I've made this a couple of times and it's been good both times, so the recipe is consistent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States