Seared Tuna with Wasabi-Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Excellent recipe. As others suggested, I cut the butter in half, increased the wasabi, and crusted the fish with sesame seeds before cooking. Be sure to use very high grade tuna. Who needs to pay exorbitant restaurant prices when you now have this recipe? Many thanks, Darla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jensenly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Awesome!! This is by far the best recipe I've made so far from this site. Sauce took quite a while, but definitely worth every minute - it makes the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This is the best butter sauce in the world. If you don't have cilantro you can leave it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
The best ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This was the bomb, will make again serve with an asian rice..yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
We loved this!!! The sauce is definitely the time-consuming part, it probably took me 45 minutes to make. I read all the reviews and took the consistent suggestions of doubling the wasabi and cutting the butter in half. So glad I did because the sauce had great flavor! I could see how 1 cup of butter would be too much. I also subbed a yellow onion in place of the shallot and used a Chardonnay for the wine. I bought fresh, sushi grade tuna, wow, I will never buy the frozen yellowfin junk again. This was so rich and meaty, and not fishy at all, its like you are eating a filet mignon steak. Let the tuna steaks come to room temp. before searing, because if you do it straight out of the fridge you will end up with a cold center of the fish. I seared mine for 90 seconds a side (as per some reviews), and we all felt (me, my husband, and my brother-in-law) uncomfortable because it was still very rare. I know its sushi grade and can be eaten raw but we threw ours back on for probably an additional 90 seconds per side and that was much better. More like a medium - medium rare steak. Which this recipe calls for searing a minimum of 3 min. per side anyway, will definitely do that next time. I also coated the tuna with sesame oil instead of olive oil, felt that it would be more consistent with the other flavors. Served with asparagus sauteed in garlic and olive oil and roasted fingerling potatoes to complete the gourmet meal. We enjoyed very much a
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomSavedbyGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Loved the idea of it, love all the ingredients, but didn't care for the result
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Savage, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Wow! This sauce was great! We cooked the tuna for three minutes on each side, but it was still a bit more done than we would like. Next time, we will cook it for about 1 1/2 to 2 minutes per side. We added extra wasabi to the sauce, and next time will probably add more. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
What can I say but WOW!!! This was a HUGE hit, my family LOVED it. I more than seared the tuna (we like it fully cooked) and placed it on top of a bed of brown rice. I poured the sauce over top (made exactly as called for) and it was PERFECT. Thanks so much for the fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This was AWESOME! Quick, easy, and my husband loved it. I will make this over and over again. I served it with asparagus (baked sprayed with olive oil and then sprinkled with pepper and sea salt) and a baked sweet potato. It was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States