Seared Tuna with Wasabi-Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
This is sooooo good! Lots of strong flavor, but it does mellow out as you cook the sauce. I may end up using the sauce on other things, not just tuna. Try this, you'll be satisfied!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glassboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Oh my god.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Really great recipe. It's amazing how you capture the wasabi flavor without overpowering the recipe with heat. I used it with some tuna steaks that we had frozen and the flavor was incredible, even without using fresh fish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This sauce is amazing! I doubled the Wasabi, and cut the cook time on the tuna in half. The next night I put the sauce over steak and it was fantastic! I placed the hot steak over the cold wasabi butter to heat it up and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Excellent! I had dry powdered Wasabi and used same measure and it was fine. This is dinner party caliber good eats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R Vennerbeck

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Foster, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Outstanding recipe. I took the suggestion of others and reduced the amount of butter used and paid careful attention to the sauce during and after emulsifying the butter. I used a dry chardonay for the recipes because it's what I had on hand and it still worked beautifully. I took another reviewers recommendation and sliced the cooked tuna into 1/2 slices with a sharp knife and fanned them out on the plate over a little basmati rice with a salad. Very nice, very elegant, very tasty dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dukslayr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AZ
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This was very good. I need to work on my searing skills and I think it would be better. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I would give it a 1, but husband LOVED it, so I'll compromise with a 3. We halved the butter, but followed everything else exactly. Could have done with less cilantro. Be aware that this is VERY wasabi-y. It was a strange taste to me to have wasabi have the greasy texture of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This was amazing! I made it for my family with a few minor adjustments. I substituted Light Smart Balance in place of the butter and used only 1/2 a cup instead of a full cup. Also, I served it with the pineapple salsa that one of the other reviewers recommended...pair it with some jasmine rice and some wilted spinach and it was a meal made in heaven. My family didn't even guess that it was healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Excellent! We cooked ours a little longer b/c fillets were thick. Wish they were a little more rare in hind site. Added extra wasabi to sauce - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States