Seared Tuna with Wasabi-Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Miss Yoko
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Amazing recipe! Followed the directions! Turned out amazing! Served it with saute spinach on the side! Tuna on a bed of sweet butter. And as an extra, some pickled ginger! PERFECT! Please! DO not make it well done Tuna! ewwww, well done tuna is going to taste like cardboard. Just seared, means your tuna steack as to be at room temp. and then 50 sec each side on a really warm skillet. And thats it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Yoko

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This sauce makes the dish. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spolley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
The sauce is unique and delicious... people rave when I make this. I didn't have shallots but used a mild onion instead and it tasted fine. I am allergic to cilantro so left it out but still thought the sauce had an amazing flavor. Don't be worried about the wasabi - I fed it to someone who despises spicy things and he loved it. I paired this with braised bok choy -- basically briefly sauteed in butter and garlic on a high temperature so it was more wilted than cooked -- and it was fabulous. I have sometimes sprinkled the tuna steaks with colorful wasabi chickpeas that I got at the food co-op - it's a very classy presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I made this last nite for my boyfriend. OH.MY.GOSH. It was amazing. I did make a few changes, but nothing major. I doubled the wasabi, as per other reviewers. I used Chardonnay as my white wine for the sauce. I also coated my tuna in black & white sesame seeds before I seared them. Mine were pretty thick, and 90 seconds on each side was PERFECT. I thought the sauce (while taste testing) was going to be way too strong, but it was perfect on the tuna. I'm going to make that sauce again and try it with pasta. I served this with pineapple fried rice (from allrecipes.com), stir-fried vegetables, and a green salad with sesame ginger dressing. I also made a dipping sauce for the tuna: sesame oil, soy sauce, and honey. Just stir- so good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by partyofsixseattle
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Best seared ahi recipe I've used to date! I dipped the top and bottom of each medallion in sesame oil, then coated in white and black sesame seeds. I seared each side about 1.5 - 2 min. For the sauce, I used 1/2 cup butter and 2 TB of wasabi. Absolutely perfect! Plated it with wild rice so I had a good excuse to eat every last drop of the sauce! Was able to reheat some leftover sauce the next day in the microwave by putting it on 30% power for 30 second increments and whisking gently in between until it was warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by partyofsixseattle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Excellent, tasty perfect sauce for tuna!! Moist and yummy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
**Simmer it with the Soy Sauce and Wasabi.. it makes a huge difference on the flavor scale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
this was delicious, gourmet dining quality, very impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
This is absolutely heavenly. Beyond and above any world class Michelin reviews. The wasabi/ cilantro/ butter/soy sauce with reduced wine/vinegar/shallot essence is so very awesome! I sometimes replace wasabi with horse radish to give it a milder "kick". The secret truly is in the tuna itself: The more rare, the better. I encrusted the tuna with multi colored coarsely ground peppers. and put it on the hottest skillet to SEAR no more than one minute on each side. If you want the inside really really rare like sashimi, simply refrigerate the tuna steaks at around 35 degrees before transferring them to the HOTTEST skillet. Um Um, Sinfully Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
SO. GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States