Seared Tuna with Wasabi-Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
OUTSTANDING!!! So easy and extremely good! As good as going out to eat and way more satisfiying. As suggested in the other reviews, I added more Wasabi which still didn't make it overly spicy, but gave it some zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
This was absolutely incredible!!!!! I will make a few minor changes next time - add a little more wasabi, use less butter and add some cream to the sauce. Also, tuna should be seared on HIGH heat, not medium-high. This was some of the best tuna I've ever had - thanks for the recipe, Darla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
This recipe was very good! However, I like it a little spicy and would add more wasabi...2-4 TBS. depending on who I was serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
I want more of a wasabi taste. It seemed like I was eating tuna with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
I made this recipe for dinner tonight and I read it wrong. I simmered 10oz of chicken stock with shallots and 1/4C of white white and the vinegar. Well I reduced it to only half, kept the shallots and added 2tbl of soy sauce,the wasabi and 1/2 stick of butter. It turned out delicious. My 14 yr old who doesn't like wasabi liked it very much. I think for our taste I would add more wasabi but over all it was delicious. I'll be using it often for other types of fish and for chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dlish

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Wonderful. Add a pinch of tarragon in the butter melting stage to gave it a Hollandaise tang. Make wasabi paste with powder, then add extra in the last stages to heat it to taste. Great on smoked turkey, etc...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
This was excellent, my family really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
The sauce is great, but 3 to 5 minutes per side for tuna? Good tuna is best enjoyed almost raw (like for Sushi) and should never be seared more than 90 seconds on each side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
I have made this twice... the first time I followed the recipe to a T and the sauce is absolutely delicious... but it IS very buttery.... The second time I used the same ingredients but added more wine and soy sauce and less butter and didnt waste much time whisking the butter in to make the reduction. It also was delicious, but not the same as the buttery version. I served with pea pods, these yummy little tempura veggie birds nests from trader joes, and a rice w/ veggies. the family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
I used salmon fillets (no skin) and the salmon was great, but no one really cared for the Wasabi-Butter Sauce. It was just too much butter and not enough real flavor. I won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States