Seared Tuna with Wasabi-Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
I used wasabi powder instead of prepared wasabi (about 2 tablespoons). Could have used more wasabi for more spice, but it was still delicious as is! This sauce tastes good over other firm-fleshed fish as well, such as mahi mahi and salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
Very good! I cooked the tuna all the way through, though, as we prefer fish that way. The sauce was wonderful! Thank you for a great recipe that even my two small kids liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
WOW!!My husband and I are truly fresh tuna lovers and this recipe was amazing. Definetly needed more wasabi in sauce. I did not have shallots so I used scallions. Pan searing the tuna for 90 seconds on each side was the key. You have to try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
I was very disappointed with this. The sauce was very sour and just plain weird; I even bought some decent wine for it. Husband scraped most of it off his piece of tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
This was not my favorite recipe. I thought it was very rich, too rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Logansport, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
OUTSTANDING!!! So easy and extremely good! As good as going out to eat and way more satisfiying. As suggested in the other reviews, I added more Wasabi which still didn't make it overly spicy, but gave it some zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
This was absolutely incredible!!!!! I will make a few minor changes next time - add a little more wasabi, use less butter and add some cream to the sauce. Also, tuna should be seared on HIGH heat, not medium-high. This was some of the best tuna I've ever had - thanks for the recipe, Darla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
This recipe was very good! However, I like it a little spicy and would add more wasabi...2-4 TBS. depending on who I was serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
I want more of a wasabi taste. It seemed like I was eating tuna with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
I made this recipe for dinner tonight and I read it wrong. I simmered 10oz of chicken stock with shallots and 1/4C of white white and the vinegar. Well I reduced it to only half, kept the shallots and added 2tbl of soy sauce,the wasabi and 1/2 stick of butter. It turned out delicious. My 14 yr old who doesn't like wasabi liked it very much. I think for our taste I would add more wasabi but over all it was delicious. I'll be using it often for other types of fish and for chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dlish

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Chef John's Green Sauce

Watch Chef John make a classic raw green sauce for grilled meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States