Seared Tuna with Wasabi-Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Absolutely fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
FANTASTIC. I substituted swordfish for the tuna and used rice wine vinegar (mirin) as I didn't have white wine vinegar. I am a novice cook but with this recipe, managed to pull off something that was truly fine-dining restaurant quality! The sauce is to die for. I can imagine this would be wonderful atop garlic mashed potatoes as the sauce is so rich, savory and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
I am having a really hard time getting this sauce right (I'm new at this, and the butter keeps separating, I think), but even with being a little off, this recipe is very good! I'm going to keep practicing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canyon Country, California, USA
Living In: Saugus, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Wow! I was looking for something to put on fresh caught island tuna and this is it! (this would be good on a rock, but...) :) I did exchange white vinegar and regular onions, can't imagine what it would taste like if I had all the right stuff. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mililani, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
This is sooooo good! Lots of strong flavor, but it does mellow out as you cook the sauce. I may end up using the sauce on other things, not just tuna. Try this, you'll be satisfied!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glassboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Oh my god.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Really great recipe. It's amazing how you capture the wasabi flavor without overpowering the recipe with heat. I used it with some tuna steaks that we had frozen and the flavor was incredible, even without using fresh fish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This sauce is amazing! I doubled the Wasabi, and cut the cook time on the tuna in half. The next night I put the sauce over steak and it was fantastic! I placed the hot steak over the cold wasabi butter to heat it up and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Excellent! I had dry powdered Wasabi and used same measure and it was fine. This is dinner party caliber good eats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R Vennerbeck

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Foster, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Outstanding recipe. I took the suggestion of others and reduced the amount of butter used and paid careful attention to the sauce during and after emulsifying the butter. I used a dry chardonay for the recipes because it's what I had on hand and it still worked beautifully. I took another reviewers recommendation and sliced the cooked tuna into 1/2 slices with a sharp knife and fanned them out on the plate over a little basmati rice with a salad. Very nice, very elegant, very tasty dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dukslayr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States