Seared Tuna with Wasabi-Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
This is our favorite recipe of all time. We have it every special occasion! It is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
This recipe was pretty bland. Not much taste at all other than the butter in the sauce. I will not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Based on the reviews I decided to try this but, in my opinion, a butter sauce does not go with seared tuna. The sauce was much too rich, and it was bland. I'm going to stick to my simple soy, ginger, wasabi, scallion dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
This recipe is a WOW! I agree with others that a thicker sauce is preferrable. The tuna was enhanced by the amazing flavors of the sauce. My wife said to only put it on the tuna, as I had added it to the green beans. Wish I had rice pilaf to add to this mix. Next time. I followed a few of the reviewers suggestions religiously and it worked well. We have friends from the UK staying with us next Sunday and they love this type of meal. I cannot wait to make this again and again. Darla, the chef presenter, we give you hugs for presenting this recipe. We love you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Outstanding! Definitly not a healthy sauce, but who cares! 5 out of 5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
was a restaurant quality recipe. have to say i cut butter in half as only used half the tuna. sauce would have been enough anyway. great taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miss Yoko
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Amazing recipe! Followed the directions! Turned out amazing! Served it with saute spinach on the side! Tuna on a bed of sweet butter. And as an extra, some pickled ginger! PERFECT! Please! DO not make it well done Tuna! ewwww, well done tuna is going to taste like cardboard. Just seared, means your tuna steack as to be at room temp. and then 50 sec each side on a really warm skillet. And thats it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Yoko

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This sauce makes the dish. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spolley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
The sauce is unique and delicious... people rave when I make this. I didn't have shallots but used a mild onion instead and it tasted fine. I am allergic to cilantro so left it out but still thought the sauce had an amazing flavor. Don't be worried about the wasabi - I fed it to someone who despises spicy things and he loved it. I paired this with braised bok choy -- basically briefly sauteed in butter and garlic on a high temperature so it was more wilted than cooked -- and it was fabulous. I have sometimes sprinkled the tuna steaks with colorful wasabi chickpeas that I got at the food co-op - it's a very classy presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I made this last nite for my boyfriend. OH.MY.GOSH. It was amazing. I did make a few changes, but nothing major. I doubled the wasabi, as per other reviewers. I used Chardonnay as my white wine for the sauce. I also coated my tuna in black & white sesame seeds before I seared them. Mine were pretty thick, and 90 seconds on each side was PERFECT. I thought the sauce (while taste testing) was going to be way too strong, but it was perfect on the tuna. I'm going to make that sauce again and try it with pasta. I served this with pineapple fried rice (from allrecipes.com), stir-fried vegetables, and a green salad with sesame ginger dressing. I also made a dipping sauce for the tuna: sesame oil, soy sauce, and honey. Just stir- so good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Ahi Tuna Steaks

See how to make quick, easy, elegant seared tuna steaks.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Blackened Tuna Steaks with Mango Salsa

See how to make simple seared tuna steaks with a fresh fruit salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States